For specific questions about the West Virginia 2020 General Election amid the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Emergency, click here.
You may search for your voter registration information by entering your name and date of birth in the Search My Registration / Polling Place online search.
If we may be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us: 304.558.6000 toll free 866.767.8683 email:
Online: Visit West Virginia's Online Voter Registration Website.
By mail: You may download and complete the West Virginia Voter Registration Application and mail it to your County Clerk or the Secretary of State's Office.
In person: You may register to vote in person at any of the following locations:
Yes, visit West Virginia's Online Voter Registration Website.
If you are registering to vote for the first time in West Virginia or your county, and you have not voted in a federal election in this state, you must show a valid ID with your application or the first time you vote. If you
mail your application, you may send a copy of a valid ID. We accept the following documents that show your current name and address:
The fastest way to register to vote is to bring your current driver's license or state issued identification card to your County Clerk's Office. They will give you an application, and you will receive your voter's registration card on the spot. If you register any other way, your voter registration card will come in the mail.
You will receive notification by mail when your application has been processed by your County Clerk. Call your County Clerk if you have questions about your application
You may update your information online or by mail. You may also fill out another Voter Registration
Application at your County Clerk's Office or other voter registration location.
You must be 17 years old and 18 before the next general election. 17 year olds may register and vote in primary elections if they turn 18 before the next general election.
Yes, you must be a natural born or naturalized citizen of the United States to register to vote.
Yes, a person with a developmental disability is allowed to register to vote, unless he or she has been ruled mentally incompetent by a court of law.
Yes, a person with a mental health disorder is allowed to register to vote, unless he or she has been ruled mentally incompetent by a court of law.
Misdemeanor Conviction: a person convicted of a misdemeanor is eligible to register to vote and cast a ballot in any West Virginia election.
Felony Conviction: a person may not register to vote or cast a ballot while serving a sentence, which includes any period of incarceration, parole and probations, following a conviction for either (1) a felony, (2) treason, or (3) bribery in an election. However, once the sentence is fully served and the person is “off papers,” he/she may re-register to vote and participate in the next West Virginia election.
For information about re-registering to vote after you complete your sentence, check out our Felon Voting Rights brochure.
No, you must have the address where you live on your voter registration. If the US Postal Service does not deliver mail to your residence address, please contact your County Clerk for instructions.
To vote in the next election, you must register at least 21 days before the date of the election.
Most voter information is public record, but the law says we must keep your sensitive information private. No one will release your social security number, driver's license or state ID number, telephone number, or email address.
Yes, if a person has no permanent residence but lives in the county, he or she may use the address of a shelter, assistance center, or family member.
You may cancel your voter registration by sending a written request to your County Clerk. Be sure to sign your request.
If you are the parent, legal guardian, child, sibling, or spouse of a voter who has passed away, you may cancel his or her voter registration by completing the Affidavit for Voter Registration Cancellation of Deceased Voter and submitting it by mail or in person to your County Clerk.
You can request up to 200 voter registration forms from the Secretary of State's Office. If you want more than 10 forms, you must fill out the Request for West Virginia Voter Registration Forms. Return the form to the Secretary of State's Office in person or by mail. You may also email
your form to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Please click on the following Information page to see eligibility requirements and how to apply to vote absentee electronically as a voter with a physical disability..
Primary Election: Tuesday, May 10, 2022
General Election: Tuesday, November 8, 2022
Contact your County Clerk and your Municipal Recorder/Clerk for local election dates.
Primary Election Early Voting Period: from April 27 to May 7, 2022 at your county courthouse or judicial annex. Contact your County Clerk to confirm Early Voting hours and locations.
Primary Election Day: May 10, 2022, from 6:30AM to 7:30PM. Find your polling place.
General Election Early Voting Period: October 26 to November 5, 2022 at your county courthouse or judicial annex. Please contact your County Clerk to confirm Early Voting hours and locations.
General Election Day: November 8, 2022, from 6:30AM to 7:30PM. Find your polling place.
Remember that on Election Day you must vote at your assigned polling location. If the polling place is not accessible to you because of a disability, contact your County Clerk as soon as possible to arrange for voting at another location.
Voting a provisional ballot: If the poll workers do not find your name in the poll book, or they find that you may otherwise be ineligible to vote, they must offer you a provisional ballot. If you vote a provisional ballot because you did not show ID, just present your ID at your County Clerk's Office before canvass, and your ballot will be counted. If you vote a provisional ballot for any other reason, and the Board of Canvassers find that you are eligible and registered, your ballot will be counted. Your provisional ballot will stay private through the entire process. You may always track the status of your provisional ballot by calling our toll free number or your County Clerk's Office.
If your first time voting will be absentee by mail, you must send a copy of one of the forms of valid ID with your ballot. If you have previously voted in person in a federal election, ID is not required when voting an absentee ballot. You can find acceptable forms of ID here.
If the poll workers do not find your name in the poll book, or they find that you may otherwise be ineligible to vote, they must offer you a provisional ballot. If you vote a provisional ballot because you did not show ID, just present your ID at your County Clerk's Office before canvass, and your ballot will be counted. If you vote a provisional ballot for any other reason, and the Board of Canvassers find that you are eligible and registered, your ballot will be counted. Your provisional ballot will stay private through the entire process. You may always track the status of your provisional ballot by calling our toll free number or your County Clerk's Office.
You may view a current list of candidates here: Candidate Listing.
Find who is currently serving in federal, state, legislative and judicial offices, along with their term information: Current Office Holders.
During statewide elections, all polling places in West Virginia have at least one voting machine that is accessible to voters with disabilities. During county-wide elections, there must be at least one accessible voting machine
available in the county. If your polling location is not accessible to you, contact your County Clerk. Learn more about
voting with disabilities.
Yes, you may bring someone to assist you or two poll workers can help you vote your ballot. Reasons for receiving assistance in voting include blindness, disability, advanced age, or the inability to read and write. Just ask
your poll worker.
West Virginia has absentee voting by request, which means voters who need to vote by mail must first submit an application to their county clerk. Learn more about absentee voting.
If you cannot make it to your polling place during Early Voting or on Election day, you may be able to vote by mail: learn more about absentee voting.
Uniformed service members on active duty inside or outside of the United States, their spouses and dependents, and citizens residing outside of the United States that consider West Virginia their last place of residence may vote by mail or electronically. You may start applying for a ballot beginning January 1st of each election year. Visit our Absentee Voting Information page to download an application and learn more about your voting opportunities.
If you are in the hospital on Election Day, two election officials can bring you an emergency absentee ballot. You or a family member should contact your County Clerk no earlier than the 7th day before the election and no later than noon election day. Some counties also allow a person who recently moved to a nursing home to vote an emergency absentee
ballot. Application for Voting an Emergency Absent Voter's Ballot.
If you are a participant in the Address Confidentiality Program, call 866.767.8683 or 304.558.6000 and ask to speak with our ACP staff.
If you have a permanent, physical disability that prevents you from going to the polling place, you may apply to your County Clerk to receive a ballot by mail for every election: Permanent Absentee Voter Application.
The Voters with Physical Disabilities Absentee Voting Information page details the eligibility requirements and how to apply and cast your ballot through this method.
Your County Clerk begins mailing ballots by the 46th day before the election.
Your County Clerk must receive your application by the sixth day before the election.
If you mail your ballot, it must be postmarked by Election Day and your County Clerk must receive it by the start of canvass (five days after the election, excluding Sundays). If you or someone else hand-delivers your ballot,
your County Clerk must receive it by the day before the election.
You may use our web application to find out the status of your ballot.
A political party becomes recognized in West Virginia when its candidate for governor receives at least one percent of votes cast for governor in previous general election (WV Code §3-1-8). We now have four recognized political
Recognized political parties may nominate candidates for the general election in the primary election or by convention. Everyone else may only appear on the general election ballot by collecting signatures. Recognized political
parties also elect people to form executive committees.
The primary election is an election for the recognized political parties to nominate candidates for offices on the general election ballot. We also elect judges, party executive committee members, board of education members,
and soil conservation supervisors in the primary election. A party may also choose to hold a convention to nominate candidates instead of by the primary election. You should contact your political party to find out how
they choose to nominate their candidates.
No, you may register as any political party or with no party. Just check “other” on your voter registration form and write in your party or check “unaffiliated” if you do not wish to register with a party.
People often call political parties that have not gained recognized status minor, independent, or third party.
A person may run for office as a political party that does not have recognized status or as no party by collecting signatures to appear on the general election ballot.
You may register in a political party when you register to vote. On the voter registration form, check the box beside the party you want or check “other” and write in your party. If you do not want to register with a party,
check the box beside “unaffiliated.”
As a voter, your political party makes a difference when you vote in the primary election because it determines which ballot you may receive. If you are registered with one of the four recognized political parties (Democratic,
Libertarian, Mountain, or Republican), you may only vote that party’s ballot or the non-partisan ballot. If you are registered with any other party or with no party, you may ask the poll worker for one of the recognized
party’s ballots, or they will give you the non-partisan ballot.
Not always. The recognized political parties may also nominate candidates for the general by convention. For example, in 2014 the Libertarian Party hosted their nominating convention on March 8 rather than participating in
the primary election. For this reason, voters registered as Libertarian received a non-partisan ballot in the primary election.
No, every registered voter receives the same ballot in the general election. You will have the chance to vote for candidates from all of the political parties.
You may change your political party by completing a new voter registration application.
You may change your political party on your voter registration at anytime, but keep in mind that your political party matters at the primary election. For your new party to apply at the next primary election, you must make
your change at least 21 days before the election. If you make the change later, it will apply at the next primary election.
There are more rules for candidates. If you want to file for nomination as a candidate in the Democratic, Libertarian, Mountain, or Republican parties, you must register as that party no less than 60 days before filing.
If we may be of any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us: 304.558.6000 toll free 866.767.8683 email: