Font size: A-  A  A+

 Secretary Warner Awards Lewis County Clerk’s Office with NASS-WV Award

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – Secretary of State Mac Warner is pleased to announce that the Lewis County Clerk’s Office is the recipient of an award for the agency’s work in voter engagement.
The Lewis County Clerk’s Office was awarded the NASS-WV Award for Extraordinary Effort to Promote Voter Engagement Friday morning at the Lewis County Courthouse.
“Lewis County Clerk Cindy Rowan and her staff are to be applauded for their work on registering new voters and encouraging voter turnout,” Secretary Warner said. “The people of Lewis County know that if you don’t vote, you can’t complain. People here take voting seriously, and that is thanks to Clerk Rowan and her team.”
Lewis County led the way in 2016 with the highest voter turnout rate of all 55 counties, with 69.55 percent of registered voters turning out for the polls. The Lewis County Clerk’s Office also recognized 177 county residents in 2017 for voting in every election for the last 50 years.
The NASS-WV Award is a collaboration between the Secretary of State’s Office and the National Association of Secretaries of State.

Pictured (from left to right): Upshur County Clerk Carol Smith; Secretary of State Mac Warner; Lewis County Clerk Cindy Rowan; and Susan Thomas, Harrison County Clerk and President of the West Virginia County Clerk's Association.


Steven Allen Adams - Assistant Communications Director