
West Virginia voters must show an approved form of
photo identification at the polls during early voting or on
Election Day. All forms of ID must be valid and not expired.

This law does not apply to absentee-by-mail voting or any
person who falls under an exception on the back of this card. 

First-time voters who did not present an ID when registering
must provide one of the forms of ID outlined in the First-Time
Voter ID Requirements section on the back of this card.

The information on this card is a summary of voter ID laws.
To view the full laws on ID requirements, please refer to
W.Va. Code §3-1-34 and §3-2-10(g-i).

West Virginia's Voter ID Law
A Helpful Guide to 

- West Virginia driver’s license or state-issued ID

- Driver’s license from another state

- U.S. passport or passport card

- Employee ID with photo issued by local,
  state, or federal government

- Student ID with photo from a WV institution
  of higher education or a WV high school

- U.S. military ID with photo

- Voter registration card with photo issued by a WV 
  county clerk or the WV Secretary of State

- An ID issued by the DMV without a photo for voters who
  swear and affirm that they belong to recognized religious
  communities that prohibit them from being photographed

Of the IDs listed above, if the voter is 65 years of age or
older and the ID is expired, it is still acceptable if the
document was not expired on their 65th birthday.

Signed, sworn statement by an adult who has known the
voter for 6 months or more.
  - Must have known the voter for at least six (6) months. 
  - Must show a valid photo ID with current name and address.
  - Must sign an affidavit confirming the voter's identity.

The following forms of ID are acceptable at the polling place:The following forms of ID are acceptable at the polling place:



 A Poll Worker Knows the Voter.
   - Must have known the voter for at least six (6) months.
   - No affidavit or ID required for poll workers.

 Residents of State Care Facilities.
   - Voter must be a resident of a licensed WV state care facility.
   - The care facility must be the polling place.
   - The resident's polling place must be located at the care facility.

 Frequently Asked Questions: 
 What if a voter cannot obtain any of the forms of ID?
   - Registered voters can receive a free voter ID card by
     submitting an application in person at their county clerk's office. 

 What if a voter with no ID doesn't fall under any exemptions?
   - The voter will vote a provisional ballot at the polls. 
   - Before canvass, the provisional ballot signature is compared
      to the voter's registration signature. 
   - If the signatures match, the vote should count at canvass.
.

If you registered to vote for the first time in WV or your county
and have not voted in a federal election in the state, valid first-
time voter ID must be shown with your registration application
or the first time you vote.

My first time voting will be in person: You must show one of
the forms of valid ID listed below at the polling place.

My first time voting will be absentee by mail: You must send
a copy of one of the forms of valid ID listed below with your ballot.
Important: Be sure to place the copy of your ID in your return
envelope, “Absent Voter’s Ballot Envelope No. 2,” outside of the
secrecy envelope that contains your ballot.

Valid ID for First-Time Voters: only the following documents
that show your current name and address:

Valid Photo Identification, Utility Bill, Bank Statement,
Government Check, Paycheck, Any Other Official
Government Document

 

If a first-time voter does not provide one of the forms of valid ID
when voting for the first time in WV or a county, then the ballot
will be made provisional. Provisional ballots will be considered
by the Board of Canvassers at canvass. 

If you are a first-time voter and show a utility bill, bank statement,
government check, paycheck, or another government document
without a photo at the polls, you must also show one of the
following: A West Virginia driver’s license, state-issued ID
or any other acceptable photo ID

More info available at GoVoteWV.com or by calling the
WVSOS Office at 304-558-6000 or toll free: (866) 767-8683


