CREDIT SERVICES ORGANIZATION REGISTRATION STATEMENT

Form CSO-1 Rev. 01/2023

FILE ONE ORIGINAL

(Two if you want a filed date stamped copy returned to you)

FEE: \$50

West Virginia Secretary of State

Business & Licensing Division Tel: (304)558-8000 Fax: (304)558-8381

Website: <u>www.wvsos.gov</u>

1.	The name of the Credit Services Organization is:		
2.	The address of the principal office of the organization:	(Address)	
		(City, State, Zip Code)	
3.	The name and address where Notice of Process may be sent:	(Individual or Company Name)	
		(Address)	
		(City, State, Zip Code)	
4.	Please check the statement that relates to your organization:		
5.	No, our organization does not collect any money from prospective borrowers prior to completion of services rendered. Therefore, no bond is required to be filed with the Office of Secretary of State. Yes, our organization does collect money from prospective borrowers prior to completion of services rendered, therefore we are filing a \$15,000 Surety Bond with the Office of Secretary of State. List person(s) who own(s) or control(s) more than 10% of the outstanding shares of stock of this organization (attach additional pages if necessary).		
	Name	Street Address, City, State, Zip Code	
	Name	Street Address, City, State, Zip Code	
6.	authority of this state relating to the operation	ation or unresolved complaints filed with a governmental of the credit service organization. If no litigation exists starized (attach additional pages if necessary).	
	Case Name or Agency:	Case Number:	
	Location of Court:		

EDIT SERVICES ORGANIZATIO	ON REGISTRATION STATEMENT	Page	
Case Name or Agency:		Case Number:	
Location of Court:			
If no litigation exists check the state	ement below, sign, and have it notari	zed.	
I,	, have the authorit	y to represent the credit service	
I,			
Signature	Type or print i	name	
Acknowledgement:			
State of:	County of:		
I,	, a Notary Public in and for	the county and state aforesaid, do	
hereby certify that	wh	nose name is signed to the foregoing	
has this day acknowledged the same before me in my said county.			
Given under my hand on this dat	ate: My commission expires:		
Signature of Notary			
	No	tary Stamp	
	110	tary Stamp	
Business e-mail address, if any:			
Signature* of registrant and contact information:			
Name of contact person to reach in ca (Optional, however, listing one may lapplication)	ase of problem with filing help to avoid delays in processing the	Phone number	
X			
Signature of person filing on behalf	of organization	Date of signing	

Corporations/Voluntary Associations/Business Trusts/Unincorporated Nonprofit Associations/Limited Partnerships – Per West Virginia Code §31D-1-129. Penalty for signing false document. Any person who signs a document he or she knows is false in any material respect and knows that the document is to be delivered to the Secretary of State for filing is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than one thousand dollars or confined in the county or regional jail not more than one year, or both. Limited Liability Companies/Limited Liability Partnerships - Per West Virginia Code §31B-2-209. Liability for false statement in filed record. If a record authorized or required to be filed under this chapter contains a false statement, one who suffers loss by reliance on the statement may recover damages for the loss from a person who signed the record or caused another to sign it on the person's behalf and knew the statement to be false at the time the record was signed.

^{*}Important Legal Notice Regarding Signature:

Certain West Virginia Code Information relating to Credit Services Organizations (Other code information is found in §46A-6C of the WV Code.)

§46A-6C-2. Credit services organization.

- (a) A credit services organization is a person who, with respect to the extension of credit by others and in return for the payment of money or other valuable consideration, provides, or represents that the person can or will provide, any of the following services:
- (1) Improving a buyer's credit record, history or rating;
- (2) Obtaining an extension of credit for a buyer; or
- (3) Providing advice or assistance to a buyer with regard to subdivision (1) or (2) of this subsection.
- (b) The following are exempt from this article:
- (1) A person authorized to make loans or extension of credit under the law of this state or the United States who is subject to regulation and supervision by this state or the United States, or a lender approved by the United States secretary of housing and urban development for participation in a mortgage insurance program under the National Housing Act (12 U. S. C. Section 1701, *et seq.*);
- (2) A bank or savings and loan association whose deposit or accounts are eligible for insurance by the federal deposit insurance corporation or the federal savings and loan insurance corporation or a subsidiary of such a bank or savings and loan association:
- (3) A credit union doing business in this state;
- (4) A nonprofit organization exempt from taxation under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986;
- (5) A person licensed as a real estate broker or salesman under the Real Estate Brokers License Act acting within the course and scope of that license;
- (6) A person licensed to practice law in this state acting within the course and scope of the person's practice as an attorney;
- (7) A broker-dealer registered with the securities and exchange commission or the commodity future trading commission acting within the course and scope of that regulation;
- (8) A consumer reporting agency;
- (9) A person whose primary business is making loans secured by liens on real property;
- (10) A person whose primary business is the retail sale of automobiles and trucks: *Provided*, That the person is not extending credit for a buyer, excluding assignments; and
- (11) A person licensed to practice public accounting in this state acting within the course and scope of the person's practice as an accountant.

§46A-6C-4. Bond; surety account.

- (a) This section applies to a credit services organization required by section three of this article to obtain a surety bond or establish a surety account.
- (b) If a bond is obtained, a copy of it shall be filed with the secretary of state. If a surety account is established, notification of the depository, the trustee, and the account number shall be filed with the secretary of state.
- (c) The bond or surety account required must be in favor of the state of the benefit of any person who is damaged by any violation of this article. The bond or surety account must also be in favor of any person damaged by such a violation.
- (d) Any person claiming against the bond or surety account for a violation of this article may maintain an action at law against the credit services organization and against the surety or trustee. The surety or trustee shall be liable only for damages awarded under section nine of this article and not the punitive damages permitted under that section. The aggregate liability of the surety or trustee to all persons damaged by a credit services organization's violation of this chapter may not exceed the amount of the surety account or bond.
- (e) The bond or the surety account shall be in the amount of fifteen thousand dollars.
- (f) A depository holding money in a surety account under this chapter may not convey money in the account to the credit services organization that established the account or a representative of the credit services organization unless the credit services organization or representative presents a statement issued by the secretary of state indicating that section five of this article has been satisfied in relation to the account. The secretary of state may conduct investigations and require submission of information as necessary to enforce this subsection.

§46A-6C-5. Registration.

- (a) A credit services organization shall file a registration statement with the secretary of state before conducting business in this state. The registration statement shall contain:
- (1) The name and address of the credit services organization; and
- (2) The name and address of any person who directly or indirectly owns or controls ten percent or more of the outstanding shares of stock in the credit services organization.
- (b) The registration statement shall also contain either:

- (1) A full and complete disclosure of any litigation or unresolved complaint filed with a governmental authority of this state relating to the operation of the credit services organization; or
- (2) A notarized statement that states that there has been no litigation or unresolved complaint filed with a governmental authority of this state relating to the operation of the credit services organization.
- (c) The credit services organization shall update the statement not later than the ninetieth day after the date on which a change in the information required in the statement occurs.
- (d) Each credit services organization registering under this section shall maintain a copy of the registration statement in the files of the credit services organization. The credit services organization shall allow a buyer to inspect the registration statement on request.
- (e) The secretary of state may charge each credit services organization that files a registration statement with the secretary of state a reasonable fee not to exceed one hundred dollars to cover the cost of filing. The secretary of state may not require a credit services organization to provide information other than that provided in the registration statement. All fees and moneys collected by the secretary of state pursuant to the provisions of this article shall be deposited by the secretary of state as follows: One-half shall be deposited in the state fund, general revenue and one-half shall be deposited in the service fees and collections account established by section two, article one, chapter fifty-nine of this code for the operation of the office of the secretary of state. The secretary of state shall dedicate sufficient resources from that fund or other funds to provide the services required in this article.
- (f) The bond or surety account shall be maintained until two years after the date that the credit services organization ceases operations.

Note: WV Code updated with legislation passed through the <u>2012 1st Special Session</u>

Business & Licensing Division Tel: (304) 558-8000 Fax: (304) 558-8381 Website: www.wvsos.gov

Rev. 01/2023

Filing Submission Instructions - Business Division

IMPORTANT: READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING FORMS.

Please follow the instructions included with the application. Failure to include any of the required information on the form may cause the filing to be rejected.

All forms may be downloaded from our web site www.wvsos.gov.

SUBMIT THE COMPLETED APPLICATION WITH THE <u>CUSTOMER ORDER REQUEST</u> FORM TO ONE OF THE OFFICES BELOW. CHOOSE EXPEDITED OR STANDARD PROCESSING SERVICE. IF NOT USING THE CUSTOMER ORDER REQUEST FORM AND YOU ARE REQUESTING EXPEDITED SERVICE, YOU MUST INCLUDE THE WORD "EXPEDITE" AND THE LEVEL OF EXPEDITED SERVICE BEING REQUESTED (24-HOUR, 2-HOUR OR 1-HOUR) IN YOUR CORRESPONDENCE. BE SURE TO INCLUDE THE CORRECT ADDITIONAL EXPEDITED FEE. THIS FEE IS IN ADDITION TO THE REGULAR FILING FEE (SEE FEES BELOW).

CHOOSE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING PROCESSING SERVICES:

(1) EXPEDITED SERVICE (24-hour, 2-hour and 1-hour; *Requires standard filing fee plus additional expedite fee, see below)

Expedite Service *Fee EXPEDITED SERVICE requests may be submitted by:

24-Hour \$ 25.00 - E-mail to efilings@wvsos.com

2-Hour \$250.00 - Fax

1-Hour \$500.00 - Walk in delivery

(2) STANDARD PROCESSING (5-10 business days)

Standard filing fees apply. STANDARD PROCESSING requests may be submitted by:

- E-mail to CorpFilings@wvsos.com

- Fax

- Walk in delivery (drop off service only filed within 5-10 business days)

INCLUDE PAYMENT:

Be sure to enclose the correct filing fee with your filing. If paying by credit card, be sure to include the <u>e-Payment Authorization</u> form with your filing. Your filing will be rejected if the payment is not included or if the e-Payment Authorization form is not included if paying by credit card.

SUBMIT COMPLETED FILING TO ONE OF THE BUSINESS CENTERS BELOW:

BUSINESS SERVICE CENTERS Standard and Expedited Filings **Martinsburg Office Charleston Office Clarksburg Office North Central WV Business Center Eastern Panhandle Business Center One-Stop Business Center** 13 Kanawha Blvd. West 153 West Main Street 229 E. Martin Street Suite 201 Suite G- Third Floor Martinsburg, WV 25401 Charleston, WV 25302 Clarksburg, WV 26301 Phone: (304) 356-2654 Phone: (304) 367-2775 Fax: (304) 260-4360 Phone: (304) 558-8000 Fax: (304) 558-8381 Fax: (304) 627-2243 Hours: Mon. - Fri. 9:00a - 5:00p EST Hours: Mon. - Fri. 8:30a - 5:00p EST Hours: Mon. -Fri. 9:00a - 5:00p EST

Business & Licensing Division Tel: (304)558-8000 Fax: (304)558-8381

Website: www.wvsos.gov

Rev. 01/2023

Customer Order Request

SUBMIT THIS COMPLETED FORM WITH YOUR FILING.

READ CAREFULLY BEFORE SUBMITTING - **Expedite service is NOT AVAILABLE for the following filings:**

- >> Tax Department filings including Sole Proprietorships, General Partnerships, and Associations
- >> Dissolution or Withdrawal of Corporation, Voluntary Association or Business Trust

Order Processing Requested*	: * * * Expedite Processing Requires Additional Fees * * *					
Standard Processing**	24-HOUR Expedite 2-HOUR Expedite 1-HOUR Expedite					
(Avg. processing turnaround 5-10 business days)	(additional \$25.00 fee included) (additional \$250.00 fee included) (additional \$500.00 fee included)					
Email to: CorpFilings@wvsos.com	Email to: eFilings@wvsos.com					
Eman to. <u>Corprinings@wvsos.com</u>	ALL Requests for Copies of documents email to: Copies@wvsos.gov					
**Standard Processing applications rece	completed and registered in the Secretary of State registration database. ived by E-MAIL or FAX must include the e-Payment Authorization form with credit card information. In the case of the secretary of State office location requesting the filing be processed will be assessed a 24-HOUR					
Name of Entity:						
Return filing to: (Return Address)						
Contact Name:	Phone:					
Return Delivery Options: Email or Fax options do not receive a copy via mail; must be ordered separately.						
Email to:	Fax to:					
Hold for Pick Up Mail to Return Address above FedEx: Acct #						
Other (explain below):	UPS: Acct #					
Order Description (include items being ordered and fee breakdown):						
* PLEASE NOTE: Original paperwork is kept by this office. Include a copy of the original filing if you want a file stamped copy returned to you at no extra charge. Certified copy requests are an additional \$15 per certified copy being requested.						
Payment Method:						
Check/Money Order	Credit Card (Must attach e-Payment Authorization request form including payment information.)					
Cash (Do Not mail cash) Pre-paid Acct #: Attach signed pre-paid slip.						

MAC WARNER Secretary of State State Capitol Building Charleston, WV 25305 Phone: (304) 558-6000 Website: www.sos.wv.gov

24-hour, 2-hour and 1-hour **Expedite Service Guidelines**

IMPORTANT: To ensure expedited service, please mark "EXPEDITE" in a conspicuous place at the top of the service request. Please indicate method of delivery.

24-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE

The Secretary of State offers a 24-hour expedite service on most business organization filings processed by this office. If you choose to utilize this service, please enclose with your filing the additional expedite fee. Please note that this expedite fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order. You must mark the document with your "24-HOUR EXPEDITE" request. If using a cover letter, note that you are requesting 24-hour expedited service, and include your telephone number and return information. Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements are made. This office *does not* fax confirmation of a 24-hour expedite.

The fee for 24-hour handling is \$25.00 in addition to the usual fee for service. Please consult our fee schedules for the appropriate fee. If you require assistance, please contact this office.

Time Constraints: Under most circumstances, each filing submitted receives same day filing date and may be picked up in the office by the end of the same business day. Filings to be mailed the next business day if received by 2:00 pm of receipt date and no later than the 2nd business day if received after 2:00 pm. Expedite period begins when filing or service request is received in this office in acceptable fileable form.

2-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE

The Secretary of State offers a 2-hour expedite service on most filings processed by this office. If you choose to utilize the 2-hour expedite service, please enclose with your filing an additional \$250.00 per filing and/or order. Please note that this expedite fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order. Complete and submit the 2-hour customer order instruction form. If not using our order form, state clearly in your cover letter that you are requesting 2-hour expedited service and include your telephone number and return information. Attach the order form or cover sheet to the *top* of your filing and submit to this office. Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements are made.

1-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE

The Secretary of State offers a 1-hour expedite service on most filings processed by this office. If you choose to utilize the 1-hour expedite service, please enclose with your filing an additional \$500.00 per filing and/or order. Please note that this expedite fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order. Complete and submit the 1-hour customer order instruction form. If not using our order form, state clearly in your cover letter that you are requesting 1-hour expedited service and include your telephone number and return information. Attach the order form or cover sheet to the *top* of your filing and submit to this office. Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements are made.

1-Hour and 2-Hour Time Constraints: Each filing submitted for either 1-hour or 2-hour expedite receives same day filing date and will be acknowledged by fax or e-mail within expedite service time. Failure to indicate method of acknowledgement (fax or e-mail) or to provide a correct fax number or e-mail address may prevent the Secretary of State from acknowledging the filing of such documents. Filings may be picked up within the expedite service period. Filings to be mailed will be mailed out no later than the next business day following receipt. Expedite period begins when filing or service request is received in this office in fileable form.

The Secretary of State reserves the right to extend the expedite period in times of extreme volume, staff shortages or equipment malfunction. These extensions are few and will rarely extend more than a few hours.