APPLICATION FOR EXEMPTION West Virginia Secretary of State

FROM CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY Business & Licensing Division
Form CF-2 Tel: (304)558-8000

Rev. 01/2023 .Fax: (304)558-8381
Website: www.wvsos.gov

FILE ONE ORIGINAL
(Two if you want a filed
stamped copy returned to you.)

FILING FEE: $25.00 Control #

Corporate Information

1. The name of the corporation applying to do business in WV:

2. The company was incorporated under the laws of the State of:

Date of Incorporation:

3. The address of the principal office

C treet:
of the organization is: Stree
City: State: Zip Code:
4. The name and address of the Agent
(person or company) to whom Name:
notice of process may be sent, Street:
if any, will be: eet
City: State: Zip Code:

Business/Employees in WV:
5. The type of business to be conducted in WV is:

6. Are on site contractual services provided to another business located in WV? YES / NO If yes, please describe:

7. Will you maintain an office in WV? If "Yes," where? [ No O Yes, at:
8. Will you apply for a contractor’s license for construction work? [] No [ Yes
9. Is the business in the state limited to sales? If "Yes," answer a-d. [] No [ Yes
a. Does any salesperson reside in the state? [ No [ Yes
b. Will any salesperson need WV Workers’ Comp. coverage? [] No [ Yes
c. Does your salesperson have authority to finalize a contract? [] No [ Yes
d. How are goods shipped to your customers? [J Common Carrier ~ [] Company Vehicles
10. Do you expect work to be limited to only one occasion [J No, we plan on multiple jobs or on-going business.
of no more than one month? [ Yes, Beginning: Ending:

11. Will you have employees, other than sales people, working within the state? If "Yes," answera-c. [] No [] Yes

a. Will WV taxes be withheld? O No [ Yes
b. Will they have WV Unemployment Coverage? O No [ Yes
c. Will they have WV Workers' Compensation Coverage? [ No [ Yes

Continued on page 2 of this application.


www.wvsos.gov

Application for Exemption from Certificate of Authority Page 2

Basis for Claiming Exemption:

12. List section number(s) of the WV Code §31D-15-1501 (for profit entities) or WV Code §31E-14-1401 (non-profit

entities) or WV Code which makes your business exempt from being required to maintain a certificate of authority.
Enter the appropriate Code Number from the attached list of codes in the blank space provided below.

Code Number: (for profit entities) (non-profit entities)

Other [see section (c¢) of the Code in the attached list for profit and non-profit entities]:

13. Print name of signer: Title/Capacity:

Contact phone number (w/ area code):

Signature: Date:

Reset Form | | Print Form




Instructions for Applving for Exemption from Certificate of Authority

Before completing this application please review the provision of the West Virginia Code. If you believe the nature and
extent of your corporation's activity in West Virginia Will qualify your company to conduct business without obtaining a
certificate of authority under one of the listed exemptions, you may apply for an exemption by completing the
Exemption application and mailing this form to the business address in the upper left corner of the application. A fee of
$25 for anexemption certificate is required.

The Secretary of State will determine, based on the information you provide, whether an exemption may be granted or
whether your company will be required to obtain a certificate of authority prior to beginning business. Please note that a
corporation may not obtain other licenses and permit without first obtaining either an exemption or a certificate of
authority. If your company is not eligible for an exemption, then the exemption application will be returned to you and you
will have to file for a certificate of authority.

File with the Secretary of State one original signed application. If you would like a filed, date-stamped copy returned to
you, submit one original and one copy of the application. Filing fee is $25. Please make check payable to the West Virginia
Secretary of State.

The application must be signed by an officer of the corporation or by the chairman of the board of directors of the
corporation (See below *Important Legal Notice Regarding Signature).

*Important Legal Notice Regarding Signature: Per West Virginia Code §31D-1-129. Penalty for signing false
document. Any person who signs a document he or she knows is false in any material respect and knows that the document
is to be delivered to the secretary of state for filing is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined
not more than one thousand dollars or confined in the county or regional jail not more than one year, or both.

WEST VIRGINIA CODE ON OBTAINING AN EXEMPTION FOR A PROFIT CORPORATION

§31D-15-1501 Authority to transact business and jurisdiction over foreign corporations.

(a) A foreign corporation may not conduct affairs in this state until it obtains a certificate of authority
from the Secretary of State.

(b) The following activities, among others, do not constitute conducting affairs within the meaning of
subsection (a) of this section:

(1) Maintaining, defending or settling any proceeding;

(2) Holding meetings of the board of directors or shareholders or carrying on other activities
concerning internal corporate affairs;

(3) Maintaining bank accounts;

(4) Selling through independent contractors;

(5) Soliciting or obtaining orders, whether by mail or through employees or agents or otherwise,
if the orders require acceptance outside this state before they become contracts;

(6) Creating or acquiring indebtedness, mortgages and security interests in real or personal
property;

(7) Securing or collecting debts or enforcing mortgages and security interests in property securing
the debts: Provided, that this exemption does not include debts collected by collection agencies
as defined in subdivision (b), section two, article sixteen, chapter forty-seven of this code;

(8) Owning, without more, real or personal property;

(9) Conducting an isolated transaction that is completed within thirty days and that is not one in
the course of repeated transactions of a like nature;

(10) Conducting affairs in interstate commerce;

(11) Granting funds or other gifts;



(12) Distributing information to its shareholders or members;

(13) Effecting sales through independent contractors;

(14) The acquisition by purchase of lands secured by mortgage or deeds;

(15) Physical inspection and appraisal of property in West Virginia as security for

deeds of trust, or mortgages and negotiations for the purchase of loans
secured by property in West Virginia;

(16) The management, rental, maintenance and sale or the operating, maintaining,
renting or otherwise dealing with selling or disposing of property acquired under
foreclosure sale or by agreement in lieu of foreclosure sale;

(17) Applying for withholding tax on an employee residing in the State of West

Virginia who works for the foreign corporation in another state; and
(18) Holding all, or a portion thereof, of the outstanding stock of another
corporation authorized to transact business in the State of West Virginia:
Provided, that the foreign corporation does not produce goods, services or otherwise
conduct business in the State of West Virginia.

(c) The list of activities in subsection (b) of this section is not exhaustive. NOTE : If you
feel your organization is exempt but do not see an exemption reason listed in the
attached code sections here, then you may list why you think your organization is
exempt and explain in detail what the business purpose (i.e., legal business activity
being conducted in West Virginia) is and by what manner the business is conducted
with the State of West Virginia. Our office will then review the reason listed to
determine if your business actually qualifies for exemption status.

(d) A foreign corporation is deemed to be transacting business in this state if:
(1) The corporation makes a contract to be performed, in whole or in part, by any
party thereto in this state;
(2) The corporation commits a tort, in whole or in part, in this state; or
(3) The corporation manufactures, sells, offers for sale or supplies any product in
a defective condition and that product causes injury to any person or property
within this state notwithstanding the fact that the corporation had no agents,
servants or employees or contacts within this state at the time of the injury.

(e) A foreign corporation's making of a contract, the committing of a manufacture or sale,
offer of sale or supply of defective product as described in subsection (d) of this
section is deemed to be the agreement of that foreign corporation that any notice or
process served upon, or accepted by, the Secretary of State in a proceeding against
that foreign corporation arising from, or growing out of, contract, tort or manufacture
or sale, offer of sale or supply of the defective product has the same legal force and
validity as process duly served on that corporation in this state.

WEST VIRGINIA CODE ON OBTAINING AN EXEMPTION FOR A NON-PROFIT CORPORATION

§31E-14-1401  Authority to conduct affairs required.
(a) A foreign corporation may not conduct affairs in this state until it obtains a certificate
of authority from the Secretary of State.
(b) The following activities, among others, do not constitute conducting affairs within the
meaning of subsection (a) of this section:
(1) Maintaining, defending, or settling any proceeding;

(2) Holding meetings of the board of directors or members or carrying on other
activities concerning internal corporate affairs;



(3) Maintaining bank accounts;
(4) Selling through independent contractors;
(5) Soliciting or obtaining orders, whether by mail or through employees or
agents or otherwise, if the orders require acceptance outside this state before they become contracts

(6) Creating or acquiring indebtedness, mortgages, and security interests in real or
personal property: Provided, that this exemption does not include debts collected
by collection agencies as defined in subdivision (b), section two, article sixteen,
chapter forty-seven of this code;

(7) Securing or collecting debts or enforcing mortgages and security interests in
property securing the debts;

(8) Owning, without more, real or personal property;

(9) Conducting an isolated transaction that is completed within thirty days and
that is not one in the course of repeated transactions of a like nature;

(10) Conducting affairs in interstate commerce;

(11) Granting funds or other gifts;

(12) Distributing information to its shareholders or members;

(13) Effecting sales through independent contractors;

(14) The acquisition by purchase of lands secured by mortgage or deeds;

(15) Physical inspection and appraisal of property in West Virginia as security for

deeds of trust, or mortgages and negotiations for the purchase of loans
secured by property in West Virginia;
(16) The management, rental, maintenance and sale; or the operating,
maintaining, renting or otherwise, dealing with selling or disposing of property
acquired under foreclosure sale or by agreement in lieu of foreclosure sale; and
(17) Applying for withholding tax on an employee residing in the State of West
Virginia who works for the foreign corporation in another state.

(c) The list of activities in subsection (b) of this section is not exhaustive. NOTE: If you feel your organization is
exempt but do not see an exemption reason listed in the attached code sections here, then you may list why you
think your organization is exempt and explain in detail what the business purpose (i.c., legal business activity
being conducted in West Virginia) is and by what manner the business is conducted with the State of West
Virginia. Our office will then review the reason listed to determine if your business actually qualifies for
exemption status.

(d) A foreign corporation is to be deemed to be conducting affairs in this state if:

(1) The corporation makes a contract to be performed, in whole or in part, by any
party thereto, in this state;

(2) The corporation commits a tort, in whole or in part, in this state; or

(3) The corporation manufactures, sells, offers for sale or supplies any product in
a defective condition and that product causes injury to any person or property
within this state notwithstanding the fact that the corporation had no agents,
servants or employees or contacts within this state at the time of the injury.

(e) A foreign corporation's making of a contract, the committing of a manufacture or sale,
offer of sale or supply of defective product as described in subsection (d) of this section is
deemed to be the agreement of that foreign corporation that any notice or process served
upon, or accepted by, the Secretary of State in a proceeding against that foreign
corporation arising from, or growing out of, contract, tort, or manufacture or sale, offer of
sale or supply of the defective product has the same legal force and validity as process duly
served on that corporation in this state.



West Virginia Secretary of State
Business & Licensing Division
Tel: (304) 558-8000
Fax: (304) 558-8381
Website: Www.wvso0s.gov
Rev. 01/2023

Filing Submission Instructions - Business Division

IMPORTANT: READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING FORMS.
Please follow the instructions included with the application. Failure to include any of the required information on the form may
cause the filing to be rejected.

All forms may be downloaded from our web site www.wvsos.gov.

SUBMIT THE COMPLETED APPLICATION WITH THE CUSTOMER ORDER REQUEST FORM TO ONE OF THE
OFFICES BELOW. CHOOSE EXPEDITED OR STANDARD PROCESSING SERVICE. IF NOT USING THE CUSTOMER
ORDER REQUEST FORM AND YOU ARE REQUESTING EXPEDITED SERVICE, YOU MUST INCLUDE THE WORD
"EXPEDITE" AND THE LEVEL OF EXPEDITED SERVICE BEING REQUESTED (24-HOUR, 2-HOUR OR 1-HOUR) IN
YOUR CORRESPONDENCE. BE SURE TO INCLUDE THE CORRECT ADDITIONAL EXPEDITED FEE. THIS FEE IS IN
ADDITION TO THE REGULAR FILING FEE (SEE FEES BELOW).

CHOOSE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING PROCESSING SERVICES:
@ EXPEDITED SERVICE (24-hour, 2-hour and 1-hour; *Requires standard filing fee plus additional expedite fee, see below)

Expedite Service *Fee EXPEDITED SERVICE requests may be submitted by:
24-Hour $ 25.00 - E-mail to efilings@wvsos.gov

2-Hour $250.00 - Fax

1-Hour $500.00 - Walk in delivery

@ STANDARD PROCESSING (5-10 business days)

Standard filing fees apply. STANDARD PROCESSING requests may be submitted by:
- E-mail to CorpFilings@wyvsos.gov
- Fax
- Walk in delivery (drop off service only filed within 5-10 business days)

INCLUDE PAYMENT:

Be sure to enclose the correct filing fee with your filing. If paying by credit card, be sure to include the e-Payment Authorization
form with your filing. Your filing will be rejected if the payment is not included or if the e-Payment Authorization form is not
included if paying by credit card.

SUBMIT COMPLETED FILING TO ONE OF THE BUSINESS CENTERS BEL.OW:

BUSINESS SERVICE CENTERS
Standard and Expedited Filings

Charleston Office Clarksburg Office Martinsburg Office

One-Stop Business Center North Central WV Business Center Eastern Panhandle Business Center
13 Kanawha Blvd. West 153 West Main Street 229 E. Martin Street

Suite 201 Suite G- Third Floor Martinsburg, WV 25401

Charleston, WV 25302 Clarksburg, WV 26301 Phone: (304) 356-2654

Phone: (304) 558-8000 Phone: (304) 367-2775 Fax: (304) 260-4360

Fax: (304) 558-8381 Fax: (304) 627-2243 Hours: Mon. - Fri. 9:00a - 5:00p EST

Hours: Mon. - Fri. 8:30a - 5:00p EST  Hours: Mon. -Fri. 9:00a - 5:00p EST



www.wvsos.gov
https://sos.wv.gov/FormSearch/Business/Multiple-Company-Types/CustomerOrderRequest.pdf
www.wvsos.gov
mailto:efilings@wvsos.gov
https://sos.wv.gov/FormSearch/Business/Multiple-Company-Types/ePaymentAuthorization.pdf
mailto:CorpFilings@wvsos.gov

West Virginia Secretary of State
Business & Licensing Division
Tel: (304)558-8000

Fax: (304)558-8381

Website: www.wvsos.gov
Rev. 01/2023

Customer Order Request SUBMIT THIS COMPLETED FORM WITH YOUR FILING.

READ CAREFULLY BEFORE SUBMITTING - Expedite service is NOT AVAILABLE for the following filings:

>> Tax Department filings including Sole Proprietorships, General Partnerships, and Associations
>> Dissolution or Withdrawal of Corporation, Voluntary Association or Business Trust

Order Processing Requested*: * % * Expedite Processing Requires Additional Fees * * *
I:' Standard Processing™* I:' 24-HOUR Expedite*** I:' 2-HOUR Expedite I:' 1-HOUR Expedite
(Avg. processing turnaround (additional $25.00 fee included) (additional $250.00 fee included)  (additional $500.00 fee included)

5-10 business days)

Email to: CorpFilings@wvsos.gov

Email to: eFilings@wvsos.gov

ALL Requests for Copies of documents email to: Copies@wvsos.gov

*"Processing” indicates the filing will be completed and registered in the Secretary of State registration database.

**Standard Processing applications received by E-MAIL or FAX must include the e-Payment Authorization form with credit card information.
**NOTE: Orders filed in person through any Secretary of State office location requesting the filing be processed will be assessed a 24-HOUR
Expedite fee of $25.00 per order.

Name of Entity:

Return filing to:
(Return Address)

Contact Name: Phone:

Return Delivery Options: Email or Fax options do not receive a copy via mail; must be ordered separately.

I:' Email to: I:' Fax to:

I:I Hold for Pick Up I:I Mail to Return Address above I:I FedEx: Acct#

I:' Other (explain below): I:' UPS: Acct#

Order Description (include items being ordered and fee breakdown):

* PLEASE NOTE: Original paperwork is kept by this office. Include a copy of the original filing if

you want a file stamped copy returned to you at no extra charge. Certified copy requests are an Total Amount:

additional $15 per certified copy being requested.

Payment Method:

I:' Check/Money Order I:' Credit Card | (Must attach e-Payment Authorization request form including payment information.)

I:' Cash (Do Not mail cash) I:' Pre-paid Acct #: Attach signed pre-paid slip.



www.wvsos.gov
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MAC WARNER
Secretary of State 24-hour, 2-hour and 1-hour
State Capitol Building

Charleston, WV 25305 . . . .
Phone: (304) 558.6000 Expedite Service Guidelines

Website: www.sos.wv.gov

IMPORTANT: To ensure expedited service, please mark “EXPEDITE” in a conspicuous place at
the top of the service request. Please indicate method of delivery.

24-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE

The Secretary of State offers a 24-hour expedite service on most business organization filings processed by this office. If
you choose to utilize this service, please enclose with your filing the additional expedite fee. Please note that this expedite
fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order. You must mark the document with your “24-HOUR
EXPEDITE” request. If using a cover letter, note that you are requesting 24-hour expedited service, and include your
telephone number and return information. Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements
are made. This office does not fax confirmation of a 24-hour expedite.

The fee for 24-hour handling is $25.00 in addition to the usual fee for service. Please consult our fee schedules for the
appropriate fee. If you require assistance, please contact this office.

Time Constraints: Under most circumstances, each filing submitted receives same day filing date and may be picked up in
the office by the end of the same business day. Filings to be mailed the next business day if received by 2:00 pm of receipt
date and no later than the 2nd business day if received after 2:00 pm. Expedite period begins when filing or service request
is received in this office in acceptable fileable form.

2-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE

The Secretary of State offers a 2-hour expedite service on most filings processed by this office. If you choose to utilize the
2-hour expedite service, please enclose with your filing an additional $250.00 per filing and/or order. Please note that this
expedite fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order. Complete and submit the 2-hour
customer order instruction form. If not using our order form, state clearly in your cover letter that you are requesting 2-hour
expedited service and include your telephone number and return information. Attach the order form or cover sheet to the
top of your filing and submit to this office. Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements
are made.

1-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE

The Secretary of State offers a 1-hour expedite service on most filings processed by this office. If you choose to utilize the
1-hour expedite service, please enclose with your filing an additional $500.00 per filing and/or order. Please note that this
expedite fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order. Complete and submit the 1-hour
customer order instruction form. If not using our order form, state clearly in your cover letter that you are requesting 1-hour
expedited service and include your telephone number and return information. Attach the order form or cover sheet to the
top of your filing and submit to this office. Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements
are made.

1-Hour and 2-Hour Time Constraints: Each filing submitted for either 1-hour or 2-hour expedite receives same day filing
date and will be acknowledged by fax or e-mail within expedite service time. Failure to indicate method of acknowledgement
(fax or e-mail) or to provide a correct fax number or e-mail address may prevent the Secretary of State from acknowledging
the filing of such documents. Filings may be picked up within the expedite service period. Filings to be mailed will be mailed
out no later than the next business day following receipt. Expedite period begins when filing or service request is received in
this office in fileable form.

The Secretary of State reserves the right to extend the expedite period in times of extreme
volume, staff shortages or equipment malfunction. These extensions are few and will rarely
extend more than a few hours.

WV Secretary of State Expedite Guidelines
Effective: 8-31-17



West Virginia Secretary of State
Business & Licensing Division
Tel: (304)558-8000

Fax: (304)558-8381

Website: www.wvsos.gov
Rev. 01/2023

USE BLACK INK ONLY - DO NOT HIGHLIGHT
e'Payment Authorlzatlon This document contains confidential financial information and will be properly shredded after payment
has been processed by this office. Electronic storage of payment information is only permitted by signed

authorization below which may be retracted at any time by written request by the authorized party.

Service Type: D Fax D E-mail D Mail

Pavment by Card (card holder name and billing address required below)

Card Type: I:l Visa I:l Mastercard I:l Discover I:' American Express
Credit Card Number: V Code*

* 3-digit number on back of VISA, MasterCard and Discover cards.
4-digit number on front right side of American Express card.

NOTICE: For security and verification purposes, all credit card payments must include the 3- or 4-digit CVV2 code (V Code) number
located on the credit card. Failure to include this code will result in the rejection of your filing or service request.

Credit Card Expiration Date:  Month: Year:

Amount to Charge Card: USD $

Order Information (required)

Entity Name:

Card Holder Information:

Name as it appears on the account | |

Billing Address |

Telephone | | Ext. I:I

Payment Information Storage Authorization (optional)
I authorize the Secretary of State to store this payment information for future payment transactions processed by Secretary of State:

X Date | |
Authorized Signature

Payment Authorization (required)

I authorize the Secretary of State to bill an amount not to exceed the following to be charged to the above listed account(s):

X Date
Authorized Signature

Reset Form I Not to Exceed Amount: USD $



www.wvsos.gov

CF-2
CMiller
9.0.0.2.20120627.2.874785
Corporate Information
1.
The name of the corporation applying to do business in WV:
_______________________________________ 
2.
The company was incorporated under the laws of the State of:
   Date of Incorporation: 
The address of the principal office 
of the organization is: 
3.
6.
Are on site contractual services provided to another business located in WV? YES / NO If yes, please describe:
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
7.
Will you maintain an office in WV? If "Yes," where?
  No
Yes, at:
__________________        
Will you apply for a contractor’s license for construction work?
  No
Yes 
Is the business in the state limited to sales? If "Yes," answer a-d.
  No
Yes 
a. Does any salesperson reside in the state?
  No
Yes 
b. Will any salesperson need WV Workers’ Comp. coverage?
The type of business to be conducted in WV is: 
5.
Business/Employees in WV:
_______________________________________________ 
  No 
Yes 
c. Does your salesperson have authority to finalize a contract?
  No 
Yes 
.
d. How are goods shipped to your customers?
  Common Carrier       
10.
Do you expect work to be limited to only one occasion
8.
9.
No, we plan on multiple jobs or on-going business.
of no more than one month? 
Yes, Beginning:
Ending:
11.
Will you have employees, other than sales people, working within the state? If "Yes," answer a-c.
No
a. Will WV taxes be withheld?
b. Will they have WV Unemployment Coverage?
No
Yes
Yes
Yes
 Company Vehicles 
No
Yes
Control #
FILING FEE:
FILE ONE ORIGINAL
(Two if you want a filed
stamped copy returned to you.)
$25.00
APPLICATION FOR EXEMPTION 
FROM CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY
_________________________________ 
________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
4.
The name and address of the Agent 
(person or company) to whom 
notice of process may be sent, 
if any, will be:
c. Will they have WV Workers' Compensation Coverage?
No
Continued on page 2 of this application.
Form CF-2 
Rev. 01/2023
West Virginia Secretary of State
Business & Licensing Division
Tel: (304)558-8000
Fax: (304)558-8381
Website: www.wvsos.gov
List section number(s) of the WV Code
12.
Basis for Claiming Exemption:
Code Number:
___________________________ 
Date:
Contact phone number (w/ area code):
____________________ 
__________________________________ 
Title/Capacity:
Print name of signer:
13.
Page 2
§31D-15-1501
(for profit entities) or WV Code  
§31E-14-1401
(non-profit
entities) or WV Code which makes your business exempt from being required to maintain a certificate of authority.
Enter the appropriate Code Number from the attached list of codes in the blank space provided below.
(for profit entities)  
(non-profit entities)
Other [see section (c) of the Code in the attached list for profit and non-profit entities]:
_______________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Application for Exemption from Certificate of Authority
____________________ 
Instructions for Applying for Exemption from Certificate of Authority 
Before completing this application please review the provision of the West Virginia Code. If you believe the nature and
extent of your corporation's activity in West Virginia Will qualify your company to conduct business without obtaining a 
certificate of authority under one of the listed exemptions, you may apply for an exemption by completing the Exemption application and mailing this form to the business address in the upper left corner of the application. A fee of $25 for anexemption certificate is required.
 
The Secretary of State will determine, based on the information you provide, whether an exemption may be granted or 
whether your company will be required to obtain a certificate of authority prior to beginning business. Please note that a 
corporation may not obtain other licenses and permit without first obtaining either an exemption or a certificate of 
authority. If your company is not eligible for an exemption, then the exemption application will be returned to you and you 
will have to file for a certificate of authority. 
 
File with the Secretary of State one original signed application. If you would like a filed, date-stamped copy returned to 
you, submit one original and one copy of the application. Filing fee is $25. Please make check payable to the West Virginia Secretary of State. 
 
The application must be signed by an officer of the corporation or by the chairman of the board of directors of the corporation (See below *Important Legal Notice Regarding Signature).
*Important Legal Notice Regarding Signature: Per West Virginia Code 
§31D-1-129
. Penalty for signing false
document. Any person who signs a document he or she knows is false in any material respect and knows that the document
is to be delivered to the secretary of state for filing is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined
not more than one thousand dollars or confined in the county or regional jail not more than one year, or both.
WEST VIRGINIA CODE ON OBTAINING AN EXEMPTION FOR A PROFIT CORPORATION 
§31D-15-1501
Authority to transact business and jurisdiction over foreign corporations. 
 that this exemption does not include debts collected by collection agencies
Provided,
      the debts: 
(7) Securing or collecting debts or enforcing mortgages and security interests in property securing
      property;  
(6) Creating or acquiring indebtedness, mortgages and security interests in real or personal   
if the orders require acceptance outside this state before they become contracts;
(5) Soliciting or obtaining orders, whether by mail or through employees or agents or otherwise,
(4) Selling through independent contractors;  
(3) Maintaining bank accounts;  
      concerning internal corporate affairs;  
(2) Holding meetings of the board of directors or shareholders or carrying on other activities
(1) Maintaining, defending or settling any proceeding;  
      subsection (a) of this section: 
(b) The following activities, among others, do not constitute conducting affairs within the meaning of
     from the Secretary of State. 
(a) A foreign corporation may not conduct affairs in this state until it obtains a certificate of authority 
      the course of repeated transactions of a like nature;  
(9) Conducting an isolated transaction that is completed within thirty days and that is not one in
(8) Owning, without more, real or personal property;  
      as defined in subdivision (b), section two, article sixteen, chapter forty-seven of this code;
(10) Conducting affairs in interstate commerce;  
(11) Granting funds or other gifts;  
conduct business in the State of West Virginia. 
 that the foreign corporation does not produce goods, services or otherwise 
Provided,
corporation authorized to transact business in the State of West Virginia:  
(18) Holding all, or a portion thereof, of the outstanding stock of another  
       Virginia who works for the foreign corporation in another state; and  
(17) Applying for withholding tax on an employee residing in the State of West  
foreclosure sale or by agreement in lieu of foreclosure sale;  
renting or otherwise dealing with selling or disposing of property acquired under 
(16) The management, rental, maintenance and sale or the operating, maintaining,  
        secured by property in West Virginia;  
        deeds of trust, or mortgages and negotiations for the purchase of loans  
(15) Physical inspection and appraisal of property in West Virginia as security for  
(14) The acquisition by purchase of lands secured by mortgage or deeds;  
(13) Effecting sales through independent contractors; 
(12) Distributing information to its shareholders or members;  
     validity as process duly served on that corporation in this state. 
     or sale, offer of sale or supply of the defective product has the same legal force and  
     that foreign corporation arising from, or growing out of, contract, tort or manufacture  
     process served upon, or accepted by, the Secretary of State in a proceeding against  
     section is deemed to be the agreement of that foreign corporation that any notice or  
     offer of sale or supply of defective product as described in subsection (d) of this  
(e) A foreign corporation's making of a contract, the committing of a manufacture or sale,  
      servants or employees or contacts within this state at the time of the injury. 
      within this state notwithstanding the fact that the corporation had no agents,  
      a defective condition and that product causes injury to any person or property  
(3) The corporation manufactures, sells, offers for sale or supplies any product in  
(2) The corporation commits a tort, in whole or in part, in this state; or  
     party thereto in this state;  
(1) The corporation makes a contract to be performed, in whole or in part, by any  
(d) A foreign corporation is deemed to be transacting business in this state if: 
     determine if your business actually qualifies for exemption status. 
     with the State of West Virginia. Our office will then review the reason listed to 
     being conducted in West Virginia) is and by what manner the business is conducted 
     exempt and explain in detail what the business purpose (i.e., legal business activity 
     attached code sections here, then you may list why you think your organization is 
     feel your organization is exempt but do not see an exemption reason listed in the 
: If you  
NOTE
(c) The list of activities in subsection (b) of this section is not exhaustive. 
WEST VIRGINIA CODE ON OBTAINING AN EXEMPTION FOR A NON-PROFIT CORPORATION
  Authority to conduct affairs required.
§31E-14-1401
      meaning of subsection (a) of this section: 
(b) The following activities, among others, do not constitute conducting affairs within the  
     of authority from the Secretary of State. 
(a) A foreign corporation may not conduct affairs in this state until it obtains a certificate  
(1) Maintaining, defending, or settling any proceeding;  
(2) Holding meetings of the board of directors or members or carrying on other  
     activities concerning internal corporate affairs;  
        Virginia who works for the foreign corporation in another state. 
(17) Applying for withholding tax on an employee residing in the State of West  
acquired under foreclosure sale or by agreement in lieu of foreclosure sale; and  
maintaining, renting or otherwise, dealing with selling or disposing of property 
(16) The management, rental, maintenance and sale; or the operating,  
        secured by property in West Virginia;  
        deeds of trust, or mortgages and negotiations for the purchase of loans  
(15) Physical inspection and appraisal of property in West Virginia as security for  
(14) The acquisition by purchase of lands secured by mortgage or deeds;  
(13) Effecting sales through independent contractors;  
(12) Distributing information to its shareholders or members;  
(11) Granting funds or other gifts;  
(10) Conducting affairs in interstate commerce;  
     that is not one in the course of repeated transactions of a like nature;  
(9) Conducting an isolated transaction that is completed within thirty days and  
(8) Owning, without more, real or personal property;  
     property securing the debts;  
(7) Securing or collecting debts or enforcing mortgages and security interests in  
chapter forty-seven of this code;  
by collection agencies as defined in subdivision (b), section two, article sixteen, 
 that this exemption does not include debts collected 
Provided,
personal property: 
(6) Creating or acquiring indebtedness, mortgages, and security interests in real or  
agents or otherwise, if the orders require acceptance outside this state before they become contracts
(5) Soliciting or obtaining orders, whether by mail or through employees or  
(4) Selling through independent contractors;  
(3) Maintaining bank accounts;  
(c) The list of activities in subsection (b) of this section is not exhaustive. NOTE: If you feel your organization is 
      exempt but do not see an exemption reason listed in the attached code sections here, then you may list why you 
      think your organization is exempt and explain in detail what the business purpose (i.e., legal business activity 
      being conducted in West Virginia) is and by what manner the business is conducted with the State of West 
      Virginia. Our office will then review the reason listed to determine if your business actually qualifies for 
      exemption status.
servants or employees or contacts within this state at the time of the injury. 
within this state notwithstanding the fact that the corporation had no agents, 
a defective condition and that product causes injury to any person or property 
(3) The corporation manufactures, sells, offers for sale or supplies any product in 
(2) The corporation commits a tort, in whole or in part, in this state; or  
      party thereto, in this state;  
(1) The corporation makes a contract to be performed, in whole or in part, by any  
(d) A foreign corporation is to be deemed to be conducting affairs in this state if: 
served on that corporation in this state. 
sale or supply of the defective product has the same legal force and validity as process duly 
corporation arising from, or growing out of, contract, tort, or manufacture or sale, offer of 
upon, or accepted by, the Secretary of State in a proceeding against that foreign 
deemed to be the agreement of that foreign corporation that any notice or process served 
offer of sale or supply of defective product as described in subsection (d) of this section is 
(e) A foreign corporation's making of a contract, the committing of a manufacture or sale,  
CHOOSE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING PROCESSING SERVICES:
  1    EXPEDITED SERVICE (24-hour, 2-hour and 1-hour; *Requires standard filing fee plus additional expedite fee, see below)
West Virginia Secretary of State
Business & Licensing Division
Tel: (304) 558-8000
Fax: (304) 558-8381
Website: www.wvsos.gov
Filing Submission Instructions - Business Division
SUBMIT THE COMPLETED APPLICATION  WITH THE CUSTOMER ORDER REQUEST FORM TO ONE OF THE OFFICES BELOW. CHOOSE EXPEDITED OR STANDARD PROCESSING SERVICE. IF NOT USING THE CUSTOMER ORDER REQUEST FORM AND YOU ARE REQUESTING EXPEDITED SERVICE, YOU MUST INCLUDE THE WORD "EXPEDITE" AND THE LEVEL OF EXPEDITED SERVICE BEING REQUESTED (24-HOUR, 2-HOUR OR 1-HOUR) IN YOUR CORRESPONDENCE. BE SURE TO INCLUDE THE CORRECT ADDITIONAL EXPEDITED FEE. THIS FEE IS IN ADDITION TO THE REGULAR FILING FEE (SEE FEES BELOW).
BUSINESS SERVICE CENTERS
Standard and Expedited Filings
Charleston Office
One-Stop Business Center
13 Kanawha Blvd. West
Suite 201
Charleston, WV 25302
Phone: (304) 558-8000
Fax: (304) 558-8381
Hours: Mon. - Fri. 8:30a - 5:00p EST
Clarksburg Office
North Central WV Business Center153 West Main Street
Suite G- Third FloorClarksburg, WV 26301Phone: (304) 367-2775Fax: (304) 627-2243
Hours: Mon. -Fri. 9:00a - 5:00p EST
IMPORTANT: READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING FORMS.
Please follow the instructions included with the application. Failure to include any of the required information on the form may 
cause the filing to be rejected.
All forms may be downloaded from our web site www.wvsos.gov. 
Rev. 01/2023
*Fee
$  25.00
$250.00
$500.00
Expedite Service
24-Hour
2-Hour
1-Hour
EXPEDITED SERVICE requests may be submitted by:
- E-mail to efilings@wvsos.gov
- Fax
- Walk in delivery
  2    STANDARD PROCESSING (5-10 business days)
SUBMIT COMPLETED FILING TO ONE OF THE BUSINESS CENTERS BELOW:
INCLUDE PAYMENT:
Be sure to enclose the correct filing fee with your filing. If paying by credit card, be sure to include the e-Payment Authorization
form with your filing. Your filing will be rejected if the payment is not included or if the e-Payment Authorization form is not included if paying by credit card.   
Standard filing fees apply.
STANDARD PROCESSING requests may be submitted by:
- E-mail to CorpFilings@wvsos.gov
- Fax
- Walk in delivery (drop off service only filed within 5-10 business days)
Martinsburg Office
Eastern Panhandle Business Center
229 E. Martin Street
Martinsburg, WV 25401
Phone: (304) 356-2654
Fax: (304) 260-4360
Hours: Mon. - Fri. 9:00a - 5:00p EST
READ CAREFULLY BEFORE SUBMITTING - Expedite service is NOT AVAILABLE for the following filings:
West Virginia Secretary of State
Business & Licensing Division
Tel: (304)558-8000
Fax: (304)558-8381
Website: www.wvsos.gov
Customer Order Request
SUBMIT THIS COMPLETED FORM WITH YOUR FILING.
Order Processing Requested*:          * * *  Expedite Processing Requires Additional Fees  * * *                                    
Return Delivery Options: Email or Fax options do not receive a copy via mail; must be ordered separately.
(additional $500.00 fee included)
(additional $25.00 fee included)
(additional $250.00 fee included)
Order Description (include items being ordered and fee breakdown):
* PLEASE NOTE: Original paperwork is kept by this office. Include a copy of the original filing if 
you want a file stamped copy returned to you at no extra charge. Certified copy requests are an
additional $15 per certified copy being requested.
Payment Method:
*"Processing" indicates the filing will be completed and registered in the Secretary of State registration database.
**Standard Processing applications received by E-MAIL or FAX must include the e-Payment Authorization form with credit card information.
***NOTE: Orders filed in person through any Secretary of State office location requesting the filing be processed will be assessed a 24-HOUR
Expedite fee of $25.00 per order.
(Avg. processing turnaround
 5-10 business days)
Rev. 01/2023
Attach signed pre-paid slip.
>> Tax Department filings including Sole Proprietorships, General Partnerships, and Associations
>> Dissolution or Withdrawal of Corporation, Voluntary Association or Business Trust
Email to: CorpFilings@wvsos.gov
Email to: eFilings@wvsos.gov
ALL Requests for Copies of documents email to: Copies@wvsos.gov
24-hour, 2-hour and 1-hour
Expedite Service Guidelines
MAC WARNER 
Secretary of State
State Capitol Building
Charleston, WV 25305 
Phone: (304) 558-6000
Website: www.sos.wv.gov
IMPORTANT:  To ensure expedited service, please mark “EXPEDITE” in a conspicuous place at the top of the service request.  Please indicate method of delivery. 
 
24-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE 
 
The Secretary of State offers a 24-hour expedite service on most business organization filings processed by this office.  If you choose to utilize this service, please enclose with your filing the additional expedite fee.  Please note that this expedite fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order.  You must mark the document with your “24-HOUR EXPEDITE” request.  If using a cover letter, note that you are requesting 24-hour expedited service, and include your telephone number and return information.  Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements are made.  This office does not fax confirmation of a 24-hour expedite. 
 
The fee for 24-hour handling is $25.00 in addition to the usual fee for service.  Please consult our fee schedules for the appropriate fee.  If you require assistance, please contact this office. 
 
Time Constraints:  Under most circumstances, each filing submitted receives same day filing date and may be picked up in the office by the end of the same business day.  Filings to be mailed the next business day if received by 2:00 pm of receipt date and no later than the 2nd business day if received after 2:00 pm.  Expedite period begins when filing or service request is received in this office in acceptable fileable form.   
 
2-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE 
 
The Secretary of State offers a 2-hour expedite service on most filings processed by this office.  If you choose to utilize the 2-hour expedite service, please enclose with your filing an additional $250.00 per filing and/or order.  Please note that this expedite fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order.  Complete and submit the 2-hour customer order instruction form.  If not using our order form, state clearly in your cover letter that you are requesting 2-hour expedited service and include your telephone number and return information.  Attach the order form or cover sheet to the top of your filing and submit to this office.  Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements are made. 
 
1-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE 
 
The Secretary of State offers a 1-hour expedite service on most filings processed by this office.  If you choose to utilize the 1-hour expedite service, please enclose with your filing an additional $500.00 per filing and/or order.  Please note that this expedite fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order.  Complete and submit the 1-hour customer order instruction form.  If not using our order form, state clearly in your cover letter that you are requesting 1-hour expedited service and include your telephone number and return information.  Attach the order form or cover sheet to the top of your filing and submit to this office.  Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements are made. 
 
1-Hour and 2-Hour Time Constraints:  Each filing submitted for either 1-hour or 2-hour expedite receives same day filing date and will be acknowledged by fax or e-mail within expedite service time.  Failure to indicate method of acknowledgement (fax or e-mail) or to provide a correct fax number or e-mail address may prevent the Secretary of State from acknowledging the filing of such documents.  Filings may be picked up within the expedite service period. Filings to be mailed will be mailed out no later than the next business day following receipt.  Expedite period begins when filing or service request is received in this office in fileable form. 
 
The Secretary of State reserves the right to extend the expedite period in times of extreme volume, staff shortages or equipment malfunction.  These extensions are few and will rarely extend more than a few hours. 
WV Secretary of State Expedite Guidelines  
Effective: 8-31-17
e-Payment Authorization
Credit Card Number: 
Card Type: 
Service Type: 
Payment Information Storage Authorization 
I authorize the Secretary of State to store this payment information for future payment transactions processed by Secretary of State:
Authorized Signature 
X 
(required) 
(optional) 
This document contains confidential financial information and will be properly shredded after payment has been processed by this office. Electronic storage of payment information is only permitted by signed
authorization below which may be retracted at any time by written request by the authorized party.
Not to Exceed Amount: 
USD $
V Code*
* 3-digit number on back of VISA, MasterCard and Discover cards.
   4-digit number on front right side of American Express card.
NOTICE: For security and verification purposes, all credit card payments must include the 3- or 4-digit CVV2 code (V Code) number
located on the credit card. Failure to include this code will result in the rejection of your filing or service request.
Rev. 01/2023
West Virginia Secretary of State
Business & Licensing Division
Tel: (304)558-8000
Fax: (304)558-8381
Website: www.wvsos.gov
USE BLACK INK ONLY - DO NOT HIGHLIGHT 
Payment by Card 
(card holder name and billing address required below)
Credit Card Expiration Date: 
Amount to Charge Card: 
USD $
Order Information 
(required) 
Card Holder Information: 
Payment Authorization 
I authorize the Secretary of State to bill an amount not to exceed the following to be charged to the above listed account(s):
Authorized Signature 
X 
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