Home | Business4WV
Font size: A-  A  A+

 Secretaries of State 2001 - Present

Joe Manchin III (D)


Joe Manchin was elected as the twenty-seventh Secretary of State in 2000 and served in that capacity until 2005.

Joe was elected Governor of West Virginia in 2004 and again in 2008.

On November 15, 2010 Joe Manchin was sworn into the United States Senate to fill the seat left vacant by the late Senator Robert C. Byrd.

Betty Ireland (R)


Betty Ireland was elected as the twenty-eighth Secretary of State in 2004. She served in that capacity until 2009.

Natalie E. Tennant (D)


Natalie Tennant was elected as the twenty-ninth Secretary of State in 2008. She served in that capacity until 2017.

*If you have historical information regarding any past West Virginia Secretary of State and would like to share it with our office please contact our office at: (304) 558-6000.