Home | Business4WV
Font size: A-  A  A+

 West Virginia Senatorial Districts


West Virginia Districts

Judicial Districts

General Info







Use the above links to navigate through the various political and judicial districts that exist in West Virginia.  These dedicated pages contain maps, numbers of represetnatives/judges for each district, the counties/areas that exist within each district, and the WV laws that guide district administration.

West Virginia Senate Map and Description

Since the West Virginia Senate has thirty-four members, and each district must have two senators, the number of senatorial districts is fixed at seventeen, unless the number of members changes. The districts currently range in geographical size from part of one county to parts of nine different counties in order to achieve the right population distribution to assure equal representation.

West Virginia State Code §1-2-1

Click here to go to the WV Legislature's website for more information about:

  • Individual WV Senate District maps
  • The corresponding WV Senate Bill 1006
  • To find your WV Senate representatives


Below is a list of the new Senate districts, their number of representatives, and the counties within each.

District # of Senators County Areas
1 2 Brooke, Hancock, Ohio, Marshall
2 2 Calhoun, Doddridge, Gilmer, Marion, Marshall, Monongalia, Ritchie, Tyler, Wetzel
3 2 Pleasants, Roane, Wirt, Wood
4 2 Jackson, Mason, Putnam, Roane
5 2 Cabell, Wayne
6 2 McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Wayne
7 2 Boone, Lincoln, Logan, Mingo, Wayne
8 2 Kanawha, Putnam
9 2 Raleigh, McDowell, Wyoming
10 2 Fayette, Greenbrier, Monroe, Summers
11 2 Grant, Nicholas, Pendleton, Pocahontas, Randolph, Upshur, Webster
12 2 Braxton, Clay, Gilmer, Harrison, Lewis
13 2 Marion, Monongalia
14 2 Barbour, Hardy, Grant, Mineral, Monongalia, Preston, Taylor, Tucker
15 2 Berkeley, Hampshire, Mineral, Morgan
16 2 Berkeley, Jefferson
17 2 Kanawha
Bold indicate counties that are entirely within the district