Applying for a Notary Public Commission
Important The revised notary law takes effect July 1, 2014 (see West Virginia Code §39-4 "Revised Uniform Law On Notarial Acts."). The major changes to the notary law include:
- Reduces a notary's commission from ten (10) years to five (5) years;
- Requires a $1,000 surety bond or its equivalent in professional insurance;
- Raises the amount a notary can charge from $2 to $5;
- Allows for the notarization of electronic documents (e-notarization)
Before You Apply
The application process for notaries involves several steps. It is not possible to obtain a notary commission in just a few days, so please allow time before planning to begin notarizing documents. Before you apply, check to make sure you meet the eligibility requirements for becoming a notary public. If your current commission is due to expire, apply early so there will be no break between your old and new commissions.
The eligibility requirements for appointment as a notary public in West Virginia are simple. A person must:
- Be at least 18 years old;
- Be a citizen or permanent legal resident of the United States;
- Be a resident of West Virginia, or a resident of another state who works at an office address within West Virginia;
- Be able to read and write English;
- Have a high school diploma or its equivalent;
- Not be disqualified to receive a commission pursuant to West Virginia Code §39-4-21.
Applying for a Notary Commission
The following steps must be completed before a person can lawfully begin to notarize documents.
Read §39-4 of the West Virginia Code which governs notary practice.
On the application you will be signing an oath that you have read and understand the requirements and will follow the law. Click the link above or the icon on the right to read the text of the law.
West Virginia Code
Chapter 39, Article 4
"Revised Uniform Law On Notarial Acts."
Complete the Application for Appointment as a Notary Public (Form N-1) to apply for your initial appointment (or to apply for recommission). Click on the application image or form number below to download the application using Acrobat Reader.
NOTE: If you are applying for a recommission and your current commission end date is on or after July 1, 2014 you must use the new Notary Form that has the revision date 12/14 (check for "Rev. 12/14" in the lower right corner of the application), regardless if you submit it prior to July 1, 2014.
|West Virignia Application for Appointment as a Notary Public (Form N-1)
Complete and submit this application for initial registration to perform notarial acts or to file for recommission. The filing fee is $52.
NOTE: If you are applying as a state or local government notary for the official duties of a state or local governmental entity (see West Virginia Code §39-4-31), your supervisor must provide a letter requesting your appointment for the fee to be waived. This letter must be included with your application. Federal employees are not eligible. Click on the image on the right or the form number above to download the application using Acrobat Reader.
Fill out the application using the online fillable PDF document format, if you wish, then print it and complete the remaining sections. Otherwise, print the hard copy of the blank application and fill it out completely.
- You must sign your oath before another notary or officer authorized to administer oaths.
- If you plan on performing electronic notarial acts (e-notarization), per West Virginia Code §39-4-19 , you must also complete and submit the application for E-Notariztion Authorization (Form N-2), [see note and image below]. There is no fee to file the E-Notarization Authorization application.
- You must provide proof of the type of bond (assurance) the applicant carries, per West Virginia Code §39-4-20(d) . If you are submitting surety in the form of a bond, only a form issued by the Secretary of State is permitted to be used [see Notary Public Surety Bond (Form N-SB1)
section below.] Otherwise, you must indicate on the application the type of certification of insurance coverage under one of the different types of valid insurance policies and complete and attach to your notary application the Certification of Insurance Form for Notaries (Form CIC).
ONLY A FORM ISSUED BY THE SECRETARY OF STATE WILL BE ACCEPTED.
NO OTHER FORMS WILL BE ACCEPTED.
Auto insurance is NOT a valid form of surety. If you submit a copy of your auto insurance
policy coverage, your application will be rejected.
- If your current commission is due to expire and you wish to keep the same month and day of expiration, please be sure to include that on the application form and apply at least two weeks prior to your expiration date.
- If you are applying as a state or local government notary for the official duties of a state or local governmental entity (see West Virginia Code §39-4-31), your supervisor must provide a letter requesting your appointment. Government notaries are required to maintain a surety in the form of a bond as required by West Virginia Code §39-4-20(d). Notaries public for state government agencies are likely to be covered by the agnecy's insurance policy through the West Virginia Board of Risk and Insurance Management (BRIM). BRIM will provide surety bond coverage (Bond) for state employees who apply to become a Notary Public or renew an existing commission provided they do so as a Government Notary Public.
The applicant must complete the Notary Public application (Form N-1) required by the West Virginia
Secretary of State, which can be found on the Secretary of State's website. The applicant
must choose "YES" as the answer to #8 on Section: 1, f. of the application to be elibigle for the Bond
provided by BRIM.
The applicant must submit a copy of the completed application to BRIM along with a request for a
Bond. Also, the applicant must complete the section for "Principcal" on the Notary Public Surety Bond
form (Form N-SB1), which can also be found on the Secretary of State's website, and forward it to
BRIM along with the application and request for a Bond. BRIM will then complete the Notary Public
Surety Bond form as "Surety" and reutrn it to the applicant for submission to the Secretary of State.
The fee is waived for government notaries. Federal employees are not eligible. Contact information
for BRIM is provided below:
West Virginia Board of Risk & Insurance Management (BRIM)
90 MacCorkle Avenue, SW
South Charelston, WV 25303
|E-Notarization Authorization (Form N-2)
Complete and submit this application if you plan to perform electronic notarial acts. This application is in addition to the Notary Public Commission application (Form N-1; see details in Step 2 above). There is no fee to file the E-Notarization Authorization application. Click on the image on the right or the form number above (Form N-2) to download the application using Acrobat Reader.
|Notary Public Surety Bond (Form N-SB1)
If you are submitting surety in the form of a bond, only a bond form issued by the Secretary of State is permitted to be used. This application is in addition to the Notary Public Commission application (Form N-1; see details in Step 2 above). Your Notary Public Commission application cannot be processed without providing proof of your current bond or certificate of equivalent coverage. There is no fee to file the Notary Public Surety Bond application with the Secretary of State. Click on the image on the right or the form number above (Form N-SB1) to download the application using Acrobat Reader. NOTE: Most insurance policies do not cover acts in violation of the law. Any bond or insurance must cover acts in violation of the law. Any insurance policy that does not will not be accepted and you will not receive a commission until you provide adequate assurance. If, for example, a policy has exclusions from criminal, dishonest, malicious, negligent, or fraudulent acts, then it would not be acceptable and would be denied by the Secretary of State's Office.
|Certification of Insurance Form for Notaries (Form CIC)
If you are not submitting surety in the form of a bond, you must indicate on the application the type of certification of insurance coverage under one of the different types of valid insurance policies and complete and attach to your notary application the Certification of Insurance Form for Notaries (Form CIC). Only a certification of insurance form issued by the Secretary of State will be accepted. There is no fee to file the Certification of Insurance Form for Notaries application with the Secretary of State. Click on the image on the right or the form number above (Form CIC) to download the application using Acrobat Reader.
Make your check or money order for $52 payable to "West Virginia Secretary of State."
The fee is waived for government notaries (see Step 3 above). For more information regarding acceptable forms of payment and the payment process, see Ordering and Payments.
Deliver your application, surety and payment to:
West Virginia Secretary of State
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East
Bldg. 1, Suite 157-K
Charleston, WV 25305
Note: Please allow approximately 10 business days for processing AFTER the application has been received. Surety bonds require prior approval from the Attorney General's Office. The Secretary of State sends the surety bond to the Attorney General for review, which can take multiple business days. Once an approved bond is received from their office, the Secretary of State processes the applicant's commission. A bond needing corrections will be returned to the applicant with instructions.
*Walk in customers may submit the documents and pay the filing fee. The commission will not be granted that same day unless an acceptable Form CIC is used as the surety.
|Wait to receive your commission letter and check your seal for accuracy.
Your commission letter will provide the exact information you need on your seal. Check to ensure your Name and Address Information are correct as they appear on your Official Seal. If there are any corrections needed please contact the Notary Division at (304) 558-8000. You must have your stamp made with the information provided in the commission letter. Click on the image to the right to view an example of the letter.
Order your rubber stamp seal. Provide the exact information given in your commission letter to the company making your seal.
Search in the yellow pages or online for "Rubber Stamps" or "Office Supplies" to find a company that makes official seals. When you order, remind the vendor that the stamp must meet state specifications. Click the seal image on the right for more information.
Receive your commission certificate, valid for five (5) years, and your notary handbook.
When you receive your commission certificate, you may begin notarizing documents, but learn what to do before you begin.
Image Not Available
Review the notary handbook and keep it handy where you provide your notary services.
Remember, improper notarization means financial liability for the notary. Every notarization must include the proper acknowledgement form. Check the online notary handbook using the Acrobat Reader by clicking on the handbook image on the right.