Font size: A-  A  A+

 Secretary Warner, State Leaders Recognize Raleigh County Students as Honorary Secretaries of State

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - Secretary of State Mac Warner is proud to announce that students from two high schools in Raleigh County have been selected as Honorary Secretaries of State for their efforts to register their classmates to vote.

Independence High School student Kyle Saunders, and Shady Spring High School students Jaron Bragg and Zachary Meador were selected for this prestigious program.

The Honorary Secretary of State Program recognizes high school students who are active in the voter registration process. These students have registered eligible 17 and 18-year-old high school seniors to vote.

These honorees are part of a group of 49 students across West Virginia who have helped organize more than 100 voter registration drives in their schools and communities. These efforts have helped register 13,688 eligible high school seniors in 2017.

Secretary Warner introduced Saunders, Bragg, and Meador, and congratulated them and their high schools Wednesday morning in a ceremony held in the Secretary of State's Office in the State Capitol.

Kyle Saunders of Beckley is the son of David & Lisa Saunders, Jaron Bragg of Beaver is the son of Dale Bragg & Natalie Sargent, and Zachary Meador of Daniels is the son of Pamela & Micheal Meador.

Pictured (From left to Right): Kyle Saunders, Jaron Bragg, Secretary of State Mac Warner, Zachary Meador, Shady Spring High School teacher Tim Smith, and WVSOS Field Rep. Lee Dean.


Steven Allen Adams - Assistant Communications Director