Font size: A-  A  A+

  Secretary Warner, State Leaders Recognize Boone County Students as Honorary Secretaries of State

CHARLESTON, W.Va. - Secretary of State Mac Warner is proud to announce that students Scott and Van high schools have been selected as Honorary Secretaries of State for their efforts to register their classmates to vote.
Scott High School students Keely Darnell, Kristian Prince, Mikayla Kirk, and Olivia Crum; and Van High School students Taylor Griffith and Austin Marcum were selected for this prestigious program.
The Honorary Secretary of State Program recognizes high school students who are active in the voter registration process. These students have registered eligible 17 and 18-year-old high school seniors to vote. 
These honorees are part of a group of 49 students across West Virginia who have helped organize more than 100 voter registration drives in their schools and communities. These efforts have helped register 13,688 eligible high school seniors in 2017. 
Secretary Warner introduced Darnell, Prince, Kirk, Crum, Griffith, and Marcum and congratulated them and their high school Tuesday morning in a ceremony held in the Secretary of State's Office in the State Capitol.
Keely Darnell of Danville is the daughter of Richard & Rebecca Darnell. Kristian Prince of Foster is the daughter of Jaime & Jamie Prince. Mikayla Kirk of Julian is the daughter Michael Kirk & Bonnie Lafferty. Olivia Crum of Madison is the daughter of Lisa & Debbie Crum. Taylor Griffith of Madison is the daughter of Shane & Jennifer Griffith. Austin Marcum of Van is the son of Jessica & Roger Marcum.

Pictured (From left to Right): Del. Rodney Miller (D-Boone), Mikayla Kirk, Olivia Crum, Taylor Griffith, Secretary of State Mac Warner, Kristian Prince, Austin Marcum, Keely Darnell, and state Senator Ron Stollings (D-Boone).


Steven Allen Adams - Assistant Communications Director