West Virginia Voter Guide West Virginia Secretary of State

WV Voter Guide

Updated 5/17/21 www.GoVoteWV.com 304-558-6000 elections@wvsos.gov Transcribed 2021 into Unified English Braille by Eric Corder West Virginia Braille Program Moundsville, WV Braille pages t1-t2 and 1-11

SPECIAL SYMBOLS USED IN THIS VOLUME

- . = Dot locator for "mention"
- .=@& Ampersand
- .=@.< Opening transcriber's note indicator
- .=@.>Closing transcriber's note indicator
- .=^S Section sign
- .=^1 Boldface word indicator
- .=^7 Boldface passage indicator
- .=^ ' Boldface terminator
- .=_7 Underline passage indicator
- .= ' Underline terminator
- .="< Opening parenthesis
- . ="> Closing parenthesis
- .=.1 Italics word indicator
- .=.7 Italics passage indicator
- .=. ' Italics terminator
- .=, ' Capitals terminator
- .=, , , Capitalized passage indicator

West Virginia Voter Guide

WV Voter Guide Registering to Vote

Register Online Go to **GoVoteWV.com** & click the "register to vote" button. You must have a valid state ID or driver's license & the last four digits of your Social Security number to register online.

Register by Mail Go to **GoVoteWV.com** & click the "register to vote" button. Click the "fill out application online to mail" button to make your own paper application.

Register in Person Register in person with your county clerk, Secretary of State's Office, DMV or any other public assistance offices.

Do you need identification to register to vote?

Yes, you must present one of the following forms of address verification that shows your current name & address. This may be presented with your application or the first time you vote.

- Valid photo ID
- Utility bill
- Bank statement
- Government check
- Paycheck
- Any other official government document

To register to vote in West Virginia you must:

- Be registered at least 21 days before an election
- Be 17 years old & 18 by the next general election
- Be a citizen of the United States

How do I contact my county clerk?

Check the county clerk directory located on the **GoVoteWV.com** homepage for contact information & locations for each county clerk's office in the state of West Virginia.

After Registering be sure to check the "Check Your Voter Registration Record" feature on **GoVoteWV.com** prior to voting to ensure that all info is accurate & your registration status is accurate.

- <u>Inactive registrations can be made active at any time</u> by updating the registration information on **GoVoteWV.com**.
- Inactive registrations are still eligible to vote.

Find my Polling Location Check your political districts & polling location by sharing your name & date of birth on **GoVoteWV.com!** Look for the "Find Your Polling Place" button.

Voter ID West Virginia voters must show an approved form of identification at the polls during early voting or on election day. All forms of ID must be valid & not expired.

- A summary of Voter ID laws can be found on **GoVoteWV.com** by clicking the "Voter Identification Information button."
- To view the full laws on ID requirements, please refer to W.Va.Code §3-1-34 & §3-2-10(g-i).

Election Day

Polls are open from 6:30 am to 7:30 pm on Election Day. If you are in line by 7:30 pm you will be given a "waiting voters permit" that will guarantee you the opportunity to vote after 7:30 pm.

Early Voting

Registered voters can vote during the early voting period at either their county courthouse or one of the satellite voting locations designated by the county commission.

- Early voting days can be found at **GoVoteWV.com** in the election calendar posted.
- Contact your county clerk for early voting hours and locations.

Absentee Voting

The state of West Virginia allows certain eligible voters to request & vote an absentee ballot by mail. More information on absentee voting eligibility can be found at **GoVoteWV.com** by clicking the "absentee voting button."

• You can track your absentee ballot using the online voter tool at **GoVoteWV.com.**

Electronic Absentee Voting

West Virginia offers electronic ballot return for Uniformed and Overseas Citizens as well as voters with physical disabilities who cannot vote in person or independently by mail. Learn more at **GoVoteWV.com** by clicking the "absentee voting button."

Be Registered & Ready to VOTE!

A Helpful Guide to West Virginia's Voter Identification Law

West Virginia voters must show an approved form of identification at the polls during early voting or on election day. All forms of ID must be valid and not expired.

This law does not apply to absentee-by-mail voting or any person who falls under an exception on page 8 of this booklet.

First-time voters who did not present an ID at the time of registering must provide one of the forms of ID outlined in the *First Time Voter ID Requirements* section on page 10 of this booklet.

The information in this booklet is a summary of voter ID laws. To view the full laws on ID requirements, please refer to W.Va. Code §3-1-34 and §3-2-10(g-i)

Acceptable Forms of Non-Photo ID:

- Voter registration card
- Medicare card or Social Security card
- Birth certificate
- WV hunting or fishing license
- WV SNAP ID card
- WV TANF program ID card
- WV Medicaid ID card
- Bank or debit card
- Utility bill or bank statement issued within six months of the date of the election
- Health insurance card issued to the voter
- Any document issued by the state of WV or U.S.
- High School ID card

Acceptable Forms of Photo ID:

- WV Driver's license or driver's license issued by another state
- U.S. passport
- Government employee ID or military ID
- Student ID card from a college or vocational school

- A concealed carry (pistol/revolver) permit
- More info available at GoVoteWV.com or by calling the WVSOS office at 304-558-6000

Three (3) exception to the voter ID requirement:

Exception 1: Signed, Sworn Statement by an Adult who has Known the Voter for 6 Months or More.

- Must have known the voter for at least six (6) months.
- Must show a valid photo ID with current name and address.
- Must sign an affidavit confirming the voter's identity.

Exception 2: A Poll Worker Knows the Voter.

- Must have known the voter for at least six (6) months.
- No affidavit or ID required for poll workers.

Exception 3: Residents of State Care Facilities.

- Voter must be a resident of a licensed WV state care facility.
- The care facility must be the polling place.
- The resident's polling place must be located at the care facility.

Frequently Asked Questions:

What if a voter cannot obtain any of the forms of ID?

• Registered voters can apply for free voter ID cards in-person at their county clerk's office.

What if a voter with no ID doesn't fall under any exemptions?

- The voter will vote a provisional ballot at the polls.
- Before canvass, the provisional ballot signature is compared to the voter's registration signature.
- If the signatures match, the vote should count at canvass.

First-Time Voter ID Requirements

If you registered to vote for the first time in

WV or your county and have not voted in a federal election in the state, valid ID must be shown with your registration application or the first time you vote.

My first time voting will be in person: You must show one of the forms of valid ID listed below at the polling place.

My first time voting will be absentee by mail: You must send a copy of one of the forms of valid ID listed below with your ballot. *Important*: Be sure to place

the copy of your ID in your return envelope, "Absent Voter's Ballot Envelope No. 2," outside of the secrecy envelope that contains your ballot.

Valid ID for First Time Voters: only the following documents that show your current name and address

- Valid photo identification
- Utility bill
- Bank statement
- Government check
- Paycheck
- Any other official government document

If a first-time voter does not provide one of the forms of valid ID when voting for the first time in WV or a county, then the ballot will be made provisional. Provisional ballots will be considered by the Board of Canvassers at canvass.

THE END