APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT AS A COMMISSIONER FOR WEST VIRGINIA

Form CWV-1 Rev. 01/2023



NO BOND REQUIRED

FILE ONE ORIGINAL

(Two if you want a filed stamped copy returned to you.)

FEE: \$500.00 *Nonrefundable

Notary ID#:

West Virginia Secretary of State

Licensing Division

Tel: (304)558-8000

**** The undersigned agrees to conform with the Out-of-State Commissioners for West Virginia Laws as set forth in **** West Virginia Code §39-4A as it pertains to performing commissioner acts in or out of West Virginia.

To qualify for an appointment as a Commissioner for WV, the applicant must be commissioned as a notary public pursuant to WV Code §39-4-20. A WV notary public, and therefore, a Commissioner, must maintain either a WV resident address, or, if not a resident, must be employed by a WV resident employer. Your application will be rejected if you are not a commissioned WV notary public in good standing.

Section 1: APPLICANT INFORMATION (Please type or print in ink.)					
a. I am applying for my (check the appropriate box below):					
Original appoint	tment (10 yr.	term). Appointment re	newal. My commiss	sion expires	
b. I affirm that I am a current WV notary public. My notary commission expires (mm/dd/yyyy)					
c. Applicant's full nan			• —	(mm/dd/yyyy)	
First Name		Middle Name or Initial	Last	t Name	
d. Date of birth:		(mm/dd/yyyy)			
e. Legal residential address (the address may be a P.O. Box):		Address line 1:			
				Zip Code:	
		County:			
f. E-mail address whe	ere business co				
g. Daytime phone number with area code:					
Section 2: EMPLOYER INFORMATION (List employer information, if any.)					
a. Business name:					
b. Business address:	1	e 1:			
	Address line	2:			
	City:	Stat	e: Zip (Code:	
c. Business phone number with area code:					
Section 3: SIGNATUR	E AFFIRMA	TION			
Virginia notary public in	to all questions good standing;	in this application are true, complete that I have carefully read the Out-	ete, and correct; that I of-State Commission		
appointed and commissioned, I will perform faithfully, to the best of my ability, all commissioner acts in accordance with the law. Applicant Signature: Date:					

Continued on next page.

*Important Legal Notice Regarding Signature: Per West Virginia Code §31D-1-129. Penalty for signing false document. Any person who signs a document he or she knows is false in any material respect and knows that the document is to be delivered to the secretary of state for filing is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not more than one thousand dollars or confined in the county or regional jail not more than one year, or both.

Important Note: This form is a public document. Please do NOT provide any personal identifiable information on this form such as social security number, bank account numbers, credit card numbers, tax identification or driver's license numbers.

IMPORTANT - BEFORE YOU SEND THIS APPLICATION, CHECK THE BOXES BELOW INDICATING YOU HAVE INCLUDED THE FOLLOWING ITEMS:

1.	The completed, original Application for Appointment as a Commissioner for West Virginia (Form CWV-1), this application.
2.	*\$500.00 Nonrefundable Filing Fee. The fee is nonrefundable, <i>provided</i> , that the Secretary of State shall have the authority to refund some or all of the application fee for denials resulting from good-faith mistakes made by applicants.
\Rightarrow	Expedite Service - Additional fee applies if requesting expedite service. Refer to the attached Customer Order Request form for additional fee.
	 Payment Options - Check or Money Order: Make payable to West Virginia Secretary of State. Credit Card: You must complete and include the attached e-Payment Authorization form.
\Longrightarrow	An application missing any part of the above listed items cannot be accepted and will be immediately returned for corrections.
\Rightarrow	Only forms issued by the West Virginia Secretary of State's Office will be accepted.
3.	Deliver all the above to one of the processing centers listed in the attached Filing Submission Instructions .

INSTRUCTONS FOR FILING THE APPLICATION FOR APPOINTMENT AS AN OUT-OF-STATE COMMISSIONER FOR WEST VIRGINIA

*** IMPORTANT *** You must READ AND UNDERSTAND THE COMMISSIONER LAWS as set forth in §39-4A (enrolled Senate Bill 669) of the West Virginia Code. The Secretary of State may deny, refuse to renew, revoke, suspend, or impose a condition on a commission for any act or omission that demonstrates the individual lacks the honesty, integrity, competence, or reliability to act as a commissioner. CAREFULLY FOLLOW THE STEPS OUTLINED BELOW.

- I. Complete all sections of this application. If you omit any part or do not sign the application, the form will be returned to you as incomplete. Please type or print in ink.
- II. Send the completed application and attached **Customer Order Request** form (include **e-Payment Authorization** if paying by credit card) to one of the office locations listed in the **Filing Submission Instructions** page attached to this application.
- III. YOU ARE NOT AUTHORIZED TO ACT AS A COMMISSIONER UNTIL ALL STEPS ARE COMPLETED AND YOU HAVE RECEIVED A CERTIFICATE OF APPOINTMENT. If your application is approved, you will receive a letter containing further instructions. When you receive the letter, read it carefully and immediately follow the instructions as outlined in the letter. If you have questions or need further assistance, please call the Notary division at (304) 558-8000 or toll free at (866) 767-8683.

Section 1: APPLICANT INFORMATION

- a. Check the appropriate box indicating you are applying for your original 10-year appointment or your appointment renewal.
- b. Affirm that you are a current West Virginia notary public by entering your notary commission expiration date ('mm/dd/yyyy' format).
- c. Print <u>your exact name</u> as you will enter it when performing an act as commissioner. You do not need to include your middle name or middle initial unless that is how you want it to appear on your notary stamp.
- d. Enter your date of birth in 'mm/dd/yyyy' format.
- e. Enter your West Virginia legal residential address. The address must be a West Virginia address. <u>Note:</u> A notary can live outside of West Virginia if he/she works for a West Virginia company that is located in the state.
- f. Enter your e-mail address where business correspondence may be received by you.
- g. Enter your daytime phone number with area code.

Section 2: EMPLOYER INFORMATION

Note: If you are not a WV resident and cannot provide a WV residential address in Section 1e. above, your employer must be a WV resident employer pursuant to WV Code §39-4-20. If you are not employed, enter "N/A" in the spaces provided or draw a diagonal line through this section to mark it out.

- a. Enter the business name of your employer, if any.
- b. Enter the business address of your employer.
- c. Enter your employer's business phone number with area code.

Section 3: SIGNATURE AFFIRMATION

The applicant must sign the affirmation in the space provided exactly as the applicant entered his/her name in the "APPLICANT INFORMATION" section.

SUBMIT COMPLETED APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT

- 1. Follow the FILING SUBMISSION INSTRUCTIONS attached to this application to submit the above items for processing.
- 2. Complete the attached CUSTOMER ORDER REQUEST form. Choose standard processing or expedite service.
- 3. Include the \$500.00 nonrefundable filing fee (plus the expedite filing fee if choosing expedite service).

* * * * * NOTICE * * * *

Once your application has been approved, you will receive your Secretary of State appointment letter. The letter will provide the exact information you need on your commissioner seal. Check to ensure your Name, City and State information are correct as they appear on your Official Seal. If any corrections are needed please contact the Notary Division at (304) 558-8000. You must have your rubber stamp made with the information provided in the appointment letter.

Business & Licensing Division Tel: (304) 558-8000 Fax: (304) 558-8381

Website: www.wvsos.gov

Rev. 01/2023

Filing Submission Instructions - Notary Division

IMPORTANT: READ ALL INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING FORMS.

Please follow the instructions included with the application. Failure to include any of the required information on the form may cause the filing to be rejected.

All forms may be downloaded from our web site www.wvsos.gov.

SUBMIT THE COMPLETED APPLICATION WITH THE <u>CUSTOMER ORDER REQUEST</u> FORM TO ONE OF THE OFFICES BELOW.

SUBMIT THE COMPLETED APPLICATION WITH THE CUSTOMER ORDER REQUEST FORM TO ONE OF THE OFFICES BELOW. CHOOSE EXPEDITED OR STANDARD PROCESSING SERVICE. IF NOT USING THE CUSTOMER ORDER REQUEST FORM AND YOU ARE REQUESTING EXPEDITED SERVICE, YOU MUST INCLUDE THE WORD "EXPEDITE" AND THE LEVEL OF EXPEDITED SERVICE BEING REQUESTED (24-HOUR, 2-HOUR OR 1-HOUR) IN YOUR CORRESPONDENCE. BE SURE TO INCLUDE THE CORRECT ADDITIONAL EXPEDITED FEE. THIS FEE IS IN ADDITION TO THE REGULAR FILING FEE (SEE FEES BELOW).

CHOOSE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING PROCESSING SERVICES:

1 EXPEDITED SERVICE (24-hour, 2-hour and **1-hour**; *Requires standard filing fee plus additional expedite fee, *see below*)

Expedite Service *Fee EXPEDITED SERVICE requests may be submitted by:

24-Hour \$ 25.00 - E-mail to notary@wysos.gov

2-Hour \$250.00 - Mail 1-Hour \$500.00 - Fax

- Walk in delivery

2 STANDARD PROCESSING (5-10 business days)

Standard filing fees apply. STANDARD PROCESSING requests may be submitted by:

- E-mail to notary@wvsos.gov
- Mail
- Fax
- Walk in delivery (drop off service only filed within 5-10 business days)

INCLUDE PAYMENT:

Be sure to enclose the correct filing fee with your filing. If paying by credit card, be sure to include the <u>e-Payment Authorization</u> form with your filing. Your filing will be rejected if the payment is not included or if the e-Payment Authorization form is not included if paying by credit card.

SUBMIT COMPLETED FILING TO ONE OF THE BUSINESS CENTERS BELOW:

Charleston Office	Clarksburg Office	Martinsburg Office
West Virginia Secretary of State	North Central WV Business Center	Eastern Panhandle Business Center
State Capitol Building	153 West Main Street	229 E. Martin Street
1900 Kanawha Blvd. East	Suite G- Third Floor	Martinsburg, WV 25401
Bldg. 1, Ste. 157-K	Clarksburg, WV 26301	Phone: (304) 356-2654
Charleston, WV 25305	Phone: (304) 367-2775	Fax: (304) 260-4360
Phone: (304) 558-8000	Fax: (304) 627-2243	Hours: Mon Fri. 9:00a - 5:00p EST
Fax: (304) 558-8381	Hours: MonFri. 9:00a - 5:00p EST	•
Hours: Mon Fri. 8:30a - 5:00p EST	-	

Business & Licensing Division Tel: (304)558-8000 Fax: (304)558-8381

Website: www.wvsos.gov

Rev. 01/2023

Customer Order Request - Notary

SUBMIT THIS COMPLETED FORM WITH YOUR FILING.

READ CAREFULLY BEFORE SUBMITTING - **Expedite service is NOT AVAILABLE** for the following filings:

- >> Tax Department filings including Sole Proprietorships, General Partnerships, and Associations
- >> Dissolution or Withdrawal of Corporation, Voluntary Association or Business Trust

Order Processing Requested*	: * * * Expedite P	rocessing Requires Additional	Fees * * *		
Standard Processing**	24-HOUR Expedite**	2-HOUR Expedite	1-HOUR Expedite		
(Avg. processing turnaround	(additional \$25.00 fee included)	(additional \$250.00 fee included)	(additional \$500.00 fee included)		
5-10 business days)	Email to: notary@wvsos.gov				
Email to: <u>notary@wvsos.gov</u>	ALL Requests for Copies of documents email to: Copies@wvsos.gov				
	ived by E-MAIL or FAX must in	ccretary of State registration database. nclude the e-Payment Authorization form location requesting the filing be process			
Name of Entity:					
Return filing to: (Return Address)					
Contact Name:		Phone:			
Return Delivery Options: Email or Fax options do not receive a copy via mail; must be ordered separately. Email to: Fax to:					
Hold for Pick Up Mail to Return Address above FedEx: Acct #					
Other (explain below): UPS: Acct #					
Order Description (include items being ordered and fee breakdown):					
* PLEASE NOTE: Original paperwork is kept by this office. Include a copy of the original filing if you want a file stamped copy returned to you at no extra charge. Total Amount:					
Payment Method:					
Check/Money Order	Credit Card (Must attach e-	Payment Authorization request form i	ncluding payment information.)		
Cash (Do Not mail cash)	Pre-paid Acct #:	Attach signed pre-paid slip.			

MAC WARNER Secretary of State State Capitol Building Charleston, WV 25305 Phone: (304) 558-6000 Website: www.sos.wv.gov

24-hour, 2-hour and 1-hour **Expedite Service Guidelines**

IMPORTANT: To ensure expedited service, please mark "EXPEDITE" in a conspicuous place at the top of the service request. Please indicate method of delivery.

24-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE

The Secretary of State offers a 24-hour expedite service on most business organization filings processed by this office. If you choose to utilize this service, please enclose with your filing the additional expedite fee. Please note that this expedite fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order. You must mark the document with your "24-HOUR EXPEDITE" request. If using a cover letter, note that you are requesting 24-hour expedited service, and include your telephone number and return information. Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements are made. This office *does not* fax confirmation of a 24-hour expedite.

The fee for 24-hour handling is \$25.00 in addition to the usual fee for service. Please consult our fee schedules for the appropriate fee. If you require assistance, please contact this office.

Time Constraints: Under most circumstances, each filing submitted receives same day filing date and may be picked up in the office by the end of the same business day. Filings to be mailed the next business day if received by 2:00 pm of receipt date and no later than the 2nd business day if received after 2:00 pm. Expedite period begins when filing or service request is received in this office in acceptable fileable form.

2-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE

The Secretary of State offers a 2-hour expedite service on most filings processed by this office. If you choose to utilize the 2-hour expedite service, please enclose with your filing an additional \$250.00 per filing and/or order. Please note that this expedite fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order. Complete and submit the 2-hour customer order instruction form. If not using our order form, state clearly in your cover letter that you are requesting 2-hour expedited service and include your telephone number and return information. Attach the order form or cover sheet to the *top* of your filing and submit to this office. Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements are made.

1-HOUR EXPEDITE SERVICE

The Secretary of State offers a 1-hour expedite service on most filings processed by this office. If you choose to utilize the 1-hour expedite service, please enclose with your filing an additional \$500.00 per filing and/or order. Please note that this expedite fee is in addition to the standard fee charged on each filing and/or order. Complete and submit the 1-hour customer order instruction form. If not using our order form, state clearly in your cover letter that you are requesting 1-hour expedited service and include your telephone number and return information. Attach the order form or cover sheet to the *top* of your filing and submit to this office. Each filing will be returned by U.S.P.S. regular mail unless other arrangements are made.

1-Hour and 2-Hour Time Constraints: Each filing submitted for either 1-hour or 2-hour expedite receives same day filing date and will be acknowledged by fax or e-mail within expedite service time. Failure to indicate method of acknowledgement (fax or e-mail) or to provide a correct fax number or e-mail address may prevent the Secretary of State from acknowledging the filing of such documents. Filings may be picked up within the expedite service period. Filings to be mailed will be mailed out no later than the next business day following receipt. Expedite period begins when filing or service request is received in this office in fileable form.

The Secretary of State reserves the right to extend the expedite period in times of extreme volume, staff shortages or equipment malfunction. These extensions are few and will rarely extend more than a few hours.

West Virginia Secretary of State

Licensing Division Tel: (304)558-8000 Fax: (304)558-8381

Website: www.wvsos.gov

Rev. 4/25/2019

a Daymant Authorization	USE BLACK INK ONLY - DO NOT HIGHLIGHT		
e-Payment Authorization	This document contains confidential financial information and will be properly shredded after payment has been processed by this office. Electronic storage of payment information is only permitted by signed authorization below which may be retracted at any time by written request by the authorized party.		
Service Type: Fax E-mail	Mail		
Payment by Card (card holder name a	nd billing address required below)		
Card Type: Visa	Mastercard Discover American Express		
Credit Card Number:	<u>V Code</u> *		
* 3-digit number on back of VISA, Ma 4-digit number on front right side of			
	oses, all credit card payments must include the 3- or 4-digit CVV2 code (V Code) number this code will result in the rejection of your filing or service request.		
Credit Card Expiration Date: Month:	Year:		
	Amount to Charge Card: USD \$		
Order Information (required)			
Entity Name:			
Card Holder Information:			
Name as it appears on the account			
Billing Address			
City	State Zip Code		
Telephone	Ext.		
Payment Authorization (required)			
I authorize the Secretary of State to bill an a	mount not to exceed the following to be charged to the above listed account(s):		
X	Date		
Authorized Signature	Not to Exceed Amount: USD \$		